Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Staff Contacts | Home RSS

Florence County races contested on Tuesday’s ballot in Wisconsin

April 6, 2009
The Daily News

FLORENCE, Wis. - Several towns in Florence County will have contested races Tuesday.

In addition, three seats are open on the Florence County School District Board of Education.

In the school board election, incumbents Lori Patterson and Sue Hoogland, as well as write-in candidates Rich Wolosyn and Grace Michaud, are vying for three open seats.

Wolosyn is the current board president, but previously had indicated that he would not seek another term. However, he later decided to run as a write-in candidate.

Michaud attended the Florence County Schools in her youth and now sends her two sons to the school. Her daughter graduated from Florence High School in 2007.

In the town of Commonwealth, incumbent Mike Bednarski will face Kenneth Johnson in the town board supervisor 1 race. Incumbents in Commonwealth running unopposed are Town Board Chairperson Gary Steber, Town Board Supervisor 2 James D'Agostino, Town Clerk Dorothy Vayda, and Town Treasurer Daniel Novak.

In Fence, Ron Smith and Wade Deverney will compete for the position of town board supervisor 2. Also, both Jan Martell and Julie Thomas are vying for the town treasurer seat.

Unopposed incumbents include Town Board Chairperson Larry Dzekute, Town Board Supervisor 1 Fred Hedmark, and Town Clerk Donna Liebergen.

In Fern, incumbent William Pahl will run against Robert Walther in the town board supervisor 1 race. Unopposed incumbents are Town Board Chairperson Ruth Cassens, Town Board Supervisor 2 Jim LeFevre, Town Clerk George Pakos, Town Treasurer Carol Demko.

In Homestead, incumbent Dennis Doll will face Robert Weber, who has launched a write-in campaign in the town board chairperson race. Unopposed incumbents are Town Board Supervisors Gary Lindow and Elinor Trosin and Town Clerk/Treasurer Linda McLain.

In Tipler, incumbent Roger Moore, Bob Benter, and Roger Kelter are on the ballot for two supervisor positions. Unopposed incumbents include Town Board Chairperson Fran Modschiedler and Town Clerk/Treasurer Diane Hensley.

Towns with uncontested races include Aurora, Florence, and Long Lake.

Incumbent officers in Aurora are Town Board Chairperson William Dyer, Town Board Supervisors Russell Johnson and Roger Osterberg, Town Clerk Stacy Hedmark, and Town Treasurer Tanya Neuens.

Unopposed in Florence are Town Board Chairperson Tim Bomberg, Town Board Supervisor 1 John Holbrook, Town Board Supervisor 2 Dennis Christian, and Town Clerk/Treasurer Judith Gehlhoff.

Long Lake incumbent officers are Town Board Chairperson Michael Anderson, Town Board supervisors James Ritchie and John Halada, Town Clerk Cyndy Halada, and Town Treasurer Frances Hodgson.

All polling locations will open at 7 a.m. and close at 8 p.m. Florence residents should report to the Community Center to vote, while residents in all other towns should report to their local Town Halls.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web