Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Staff Contacts | Home RSS

School board leaders honored

January 5, 2012
The Daily News

January is School Board Recognition Month, and Dickinson-Iron Intermediate School District is joining 552 local and 57 intermediate school districts across the state to thank these community volunteers for their untiring dedication to public education.

"Serving on a school board has been described as the 'toughest volunteer job in America,'" said Wendy Warmuth, Superintendent of Dickinson-Iron Intermediate School District.

"Yet Michigan's public school board members dedicate countless personal hours to attending meetings, school functions, and hours of preparation for the decisions they make," Warmuth said in a statement.

"On top of that, many pursue their own professional development to stay on top of the ever-changing education landscape. Collectively, school board members in Michigan have spent about 7,000 hours attending training and professional development," Warmuth said. "They're dedicated individuals who are committed to the continuing success of our schools and students."

It's an exciting and challenging time in education.

"We proudly join educators and community members in saluting these education advocates as they provide vision and leadership for student achievement, academic programs, district funding and school facilities," said Warmuth. "They preserve the core of our democracy-public education."

The various districts in the area will honor board members with their own celebrations.

The men and women serving in this area, along with the district they serve are as follows:

Dickinson-Iron Intermediate School District:

Hans Baij, Robert Witter, William Borga, Thomas Kniivila, Nancy deKoster, James Nocerini Sr., and Lisa Koon-Bloomburg.

Iron Mountain City Public Schools:

Marvin Harry, Mark Pontti, Rob Langsford, Steve Brooks, Lisa Basanese, Ed Mattson, and Jeff Michaud.

Norway-Vulcan Area Schools:

Candy Brew, Tami Miller, Richard Galotta, Mary Pat Madigan, Wendy Mattia, and Al Schultz.

Breitung Township School District:

Charlie Novara, Bob Hendrickson, Michelle Carlson, William Rice, Doug McDowell, Joanne To, and Kate Thomas.

North Dickinson County School District:

Carl Steinbrecher, Chris Minella, Marsha Hord, James Carey, Paul Schuiteman, Lynn Oman and Larry Rusch.

Forest Park School District:

John Harrison, Julia Leake, Kristine Imhoff, Lisa Bloomburg, Jim Nocerini, William St. John, and Dr. Kim Scarlassara.

West Iron County School District:

Roy Polich, Eric Malmquist, Beth Vezzetti, Faye Atanasoff, Gary Pisoni, Rob Possanza, and Arthur B. Sacheck.

Bishop Baraga Catholic School:

Rev. Joseph Gouin, Msgr. James Kaczmarck, Fr. Michael Woempner, Fr. Dan Zaloga, Steve Feria, Kim Broullire, Lisa Richards, Ann Hammond, Ronald Wagner, Sandy Norton, Dr. Kristy Fornetti, Henry McRoberts, Lisa McRoberts, Deb Hanson, Dan Wentarmini, and Scott Pirkola.

Holy Spirit Central School:

Fr. Tim Ekaitis, Kristen Ball, Rose Gianunzio, Jerome Sarnowski, Jodie Gilroy, Renee Pollard, Ron Skowronek, and Ebie Stack.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web