Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Staff Contacts | Home RSS

State champs

March 5, 2012
The Daily News

FRASER - Dickinson Amateur Hockey Association 41 Lumber PeeWees skated to a state title Sunday evening, knocking off Bay County Blizzards 6-4.

A three-goal first period helped 41 Lumber take control of the game. Darren Wood set up Brandon Spindlow for the first tally. Pete Ropiak dropped in goal number two unassisted, and put in the third with an assist from Austin VanPembrook.

With the score 3-1 after one, Spindlow netted 41 Lumber's fourth goal thanks to a pass from Trent Juul. The Blizzards answered that tally, but Darren Wood then slapped in 41 Lumber's fifth goal after a feed from Chase Kreski. After another Blizzards score, Ropiak completed his hat trick with an assist from Spindlow.

Article Photos

The 2012 Pee Wee B State Champions front row kneeling from left — Lori Jacobson, Dempsey Lauridsen, Tommy Hulce, Trevor Anderson. Middle — Trent Juul, Brandon Spindlow, Austin VanPembrook, Tysen Wadge, Patrick Redding. Back — Assistant Coach Randy Ollila, Eli Langston, Head Coach Joe Ropiak, Sawyer Perpich, CJ Dantes, Chandler Ollila, Darren Wood, Peter Ropiak, Chase Kreski, Assistant Coach Dennis Perpich, Ben Schroeder and Assistant Coach Steve Juul.

Blizzards were able to add one more in the third, but 41 Lumber goalie Trevor Anderson stopped them there.

Following the win, coach Joe Ropaik awarded an MVP plaque to the entire team.

The championship game concluded a weekend of five games for 41 Lumber.

DAHA defeated Summit 10-0, then beat Farmington Hills 11-1. A 7-2 victory over Grand Rapids put 41 Lumber in the semis where they took care of Gross Pointe Bruins 6-1 Sunday morning before clinching the title in the evening.

A complete recap of the weekend tournament can be found at



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web