Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Staff Contacts | Home RSS

Kelly grabs Speedway series title

Iverson winds up second; Boss Snowplow ‘Race to a Cure 100’ on Friday

August 2, 2012
The Daily News

NORWAY - Norway's Kris Kelly used consistency, patience and skill to win his first Auto Value/Bumper to Bumper Series championship at Norway Speedway.

Kelly edged out Jamie Iverson of Hyde by a mere two points to take home the $1,000 series championship prize money.

Iverson started out the night by being the fast qualifier for the second straight week with a time of 14.573. Kelly was the second fastest, allowing him to maintain the margin.

Article Photos

Frank Smith IV Photos
Other than a few tire marks on Willy the Whale, the Chevy Monte Carlo of Norway’s Kris Kelly made it through the Norway Speedway late model “A” feature unscathed.

They both started next to one another in the fast dash, finishing fifth and sixth behind winner Jay Baumler Jr..

However, it was the feature race where Kelly stepped up and captured the Auto Value 65-lap late model feature event.

"It looked like Iverson was on his way to win the feature," said John Ostermann, Dickinson County Racing Association board president. "He was slowly making his way to the front of the field from his 12th place starting position when on lap 33 he suddenly found his car parked backwards against the guardrail.

"That opened the door for Kelly to win the prestigious event."

Dan Lindsley was second while Iverson, who started at the rear of the field after the spin, made his way back up to third.

In the Auto Value Bumper to Bumper Super Stock Division, Ryan Wender of Upper Pine Creek took the feature event and $500 first prize. The win also allowed Wender to claim the series championship points lead over Jim Stachowicz.

"This week the countdown has begun for what could possibly be the biggest race in Norway Speedway history," said Ostermann, referring to the Boss Snowplow "Race to a Cure 100."

Thirty-five late models have pre-registered from several different states including Orlando Speedworld champion Amanda Ferguson and former NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series driver Frank Kreyer from Wisconsin Dells.

For more information on supporting the "Cure," go to or call 906-361-0597.

NOTES: Mark Miller claimed a late model heat with an "exciting last lap pass ... Super stock's Mark Bubloni continues to impress, finishing second in the main event for the second week in a row ...

Results follow:


Fast qualifier - Jamie Iverson, Hyde, 14.573; 2. Kris Kelly.

Fast dash - Jay Baumler Jr.

Feature race - 1. Kris Kelly; 2. Dan Lindsley; 3. Jamie Iverson; 4. Mike Reichenberger; 5. Tom Lindquist, Bark River; 6. Jay Baumler Jr.; 7. Greg Haese.

B feature - 1. Ken Bower, Harris; 2. Mark Miller; 3. Jason Blohm; 4. Allan Yelle; 5. Josh Ball.

Heat race winners - Mark Miller, Jake Zelinski (Appleton) and Jordan Ives.


Fast time - Mike Bubloni Jr., 16.309.

Feature - 1. Ryan Wender, Upper Pine Creek; 2. Mark Bubloni; 3. Marcus Bubloni; 4. Mark Jenshak; 5. Jim Stachowicz; 6. Tanner Kelly; 7. Brett Bray. Fast dash - 1. Ryan Wender; 2. Brett Bray.

Heat winner - Joe Pontbriand.


Heat winners - Cody Skog and Chris Dupruis.

Fast qualifier - Cody Skog.

B feature - 1. Chris Dupruis; 2. Bob Nordell; 3. Holly Leinen.

A feature - 1. Matt Adams, Escanaba; 2. Cody Skog; 3. Isaac Bray; 4. Mark Moraska; 5. Trevor Cronick.


First heat - 1. Jake Boldig; 2. Dan Vixmer; 3. Jason Plutz.

Feature - 1. Brian Monday; 2. Eric Johnson; 3. Blain Habeck.

Fast time - Jake Boldig, 16.497.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web