Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Staff Contacts | Home RSS

Richards vs. Anderson; bond issue fails

August 8, 2012
By LISA M. HOFFMANN - Staff Writer , The Daily News

IRON MOUNTAIN - Assistant Prosecuting Attorney Lisa Richards will face defense attorney Daniel Anderson in the November election for Dickinson County Prosecuting Attorney.

Republican candidate Richards received 1,266 votes to Julie LaCost's 1,225 votes.

Democratic candidate Anderson received 857 votes to Jay Finch's 637 votes.

Anderson said he is honored to be selected as the Democratic candidate for prosecuting attorney.

"It was a good, clean race and I thank all my supporters and the people that came out to vote," he said. "There is certainly a lot of work ahead of me. It is going to be a tight race. Between now and November, there will be a lot of opportunities to meet the candidates."

Richards said she is very blessed to have won the Republican primary for prosecuting attorney.

"I am grateful for the support of the many wonderful people and to the voters of Dickinson County," Richards said.

Richards congratulated LaCost on her campaign.

"I wish her continued success in her private practice, and I look forward to the next phase of the election process, the general election, on Nov. 6," Richards said.

Anderson said it is important for people to get to know the candidates, so they can make informed decisions when they vote.

"I look forward to meeting with members of the public, and I hope to continue forward and have the honor to be Dickinson County Prosecuting Attorney," Anderson said.

The Iron Mountain School Improvement Bond Proposition was defeated with 736 no votes to 690 yes votes. The district was seeking authorization to borrow up to $11 million for a renovation project.

In the race for Breitung Township treasurer, Republican candidate Carol Taylor received 321 votes and Johanna Provost received 271 votes.

Anne Cahee, incumbent and Democratic candidate for treasurer, received 281 votes.

Taylor and Cahee will face off in the November election.

The Dickinson County Library Millage passed with 2,156 yes votes to 1,068 no votes. The millage is a renewal of a levy of 0.9 mills for five years. It is estimated that a levy of 0.9 mills would raise approximately $868,000 when first levied in 2015.

The votes for candidates in the Dickinson County Board seat in District 3 were also close. Republican Barbara Kramer received 80 more votes for the candidacy or a total of 386, compared to incumbent Frank Smith, who received a total of 306 votes. Kramer will face Democrat Dale Alessandrini in the November election.

In other county races, Democratic candidate for Sheriff Scott Celello received 1,457 votes and Dickinson County Clerk and Register of Deeds Dolly Cook received 1,417. There were 73 Republican votes for county clerk and register of deeds and 83 Republican votes for sheriff.

There were 1,772 votes on the Republican ballot for County Treasurer Lorna Carey.

In the mine inspector race, Republican Mine Inspector Steven Smith, 1, 800 votes and Democratic candidate Eugene Ducharme, 1,221 votes.

Other Republican races:

Drain commissioner Kevin Trevillian, 1,839; county commissioner 1 Joseph Stevens 327 and county commissioner 2 Ann Martin, 427, county commissioner 4 Henry Wender, 417.

Breitung Township Supervisor Denny Olson, 513, and Trustees Mary Beth Dixon 438, Russ Garrett, 384, John Gaudette, 421, and Ben Peterson, 370.

Felch Township Supervisor Robert Mattson, 49, Felch Township Clerk Darrell Oman, 49, and

Trustee Gregory Wille, 46.

Norway Township Trustee Ronald Matonich, 68.

Sagola Township Clerk Julie Roell, 86, and Trustees Michael Kroll, 58 and Thomas Roell, 71.

Waucedah Township supervisor Chuck Adams, 39.

Breitung 1 Precinct delegate Wayne Funderburg, 123 and Jodi Pineau, 87.

Breitung 2 Precinct delegate Diana Miller 102, Breitung 3 Precinct delegate Mary Beth Dixon 233, Stephen Kaad, 193, Beau LaFave, 162.

Iron Mountain 1 Precinct Delegate Keith Kazianka, 143, Barbara Kramer, 172, Ralph Kramer 126, and Mary Schultz 139.

Iron Mountain 3 Precinct delegate Mary Ann Koerschner, 221.

Kingsford 1 Precinct delegate Michael Stelmaszek, 131 and Kingsford 2 Precinct delegate Steven Zurcher, 135.

Norway Township Precinct delegate Peter Schlitt, 59, John Matthew William, 30 and Pete Zanon, 36.

Sagola 2 Precinct delegate Andrea Mashak, 20.

Other Democratic races:

County Commissioner 5 John Degenaer Jr., 253.

Breen Township Supervisor Harold Beauchamp, 24. clerk August Murray, 26, treasurer Chris McMahon, 24, Trustees Kevin Cary, 21 and Bob Massie, 18 and constable Brenda Cary, 22.

Breitung Clerk Samantha Coron, 298, trustees John Erickson 210, Rita Luri, 223 and Aaron Rochon, 227.

Felch treasurer Marilyn Steinbrecher, 14, trustee Kevin Sundholm, 11

Norway supervisor Leonard Bal, 93.

Norway Township Clerk Theresa Hammill, 98, treasurer Helen Rossato, 96, trustees Veronica Gunville 37, David Solda, 84, and Richard Zanon, 61. Solda and Zanon will be on the November ballots.

Sagola Township Supervisor Don Minerick, 43, treasurer Kathy Piasini 50 and trustee Yvonne Schultz 48.

Waucedah Township Clerk Judy Dapoz, 28, and trustees Richard Smaniotti and Theodore Testolin, both 27. Constable Donald Lombardini, 25, and Dennis Meneghini, 23.

West Branch Supervisor John Cootware, 17.

Clerk Carol Jensen 16, treasurer Kim Oman, 16 and trustees Loretta LaForest 17, Evelyn Phyilliaere, 16, and constable Wesley Oman, 17.

Breitung 1 Precinct delegate Carolyn Jane Cody 60, Daniel Fredrick Cod, 50, and David Edward Gustafs, 67.

Breitung 2 Precinct delegate Bob Werner and Holly Werner and Geno Alessandrini, 42, Gene Alessandrini Jr., 40.

Breitung 3 Precinct Delegate Gordon Reed, 141.

Kingsford 1 Precinct delegate Robert D. Stock, 62 and Judy Stock, 65.

Kingsford 2 Precinct delegate Dennis Baldinelli, 56, Lora Lee, 51, Brian Smeester, 42, and Lorie Ann Smeester, 43.

Norway precinct John Oman, 130.

In the race for Senator, Republican candidate Pete Hoekstra received 1,172 votes to Clark Durant, 365, Gary Glenn, 246 and Randy Hekman, 179.

Democratic Sen. Debbie Stabenow, 1,383, Democratic Congressman Gary McDowell, 1,336, and Democratic Rep. Judy Nerat, 770 and Sharon Gray, 739.

Republican Congressman Dan Benishek, 2,149 and Representative Ed McBroom, 2,256.

In Dickinson County, there were 4,287 cards cast or 20.19 percent voter turnout. There are 21,236 registered voters in the county.

Lisa M. Hoffmann's e-mail address is



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web