Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Staff Contacts | Home RSS

Norway Speedway

Baumler late model king; Kelly impressive

September 9, 2012
The Daily News

NORWAY - The best September weather in years brought in some of the best racing Norway Speedway has seen in over a decade.

Jay Baumler Jr. of Stephenson won the first feature event of his career last week and he followed up by winning the Pepsi late model track championship.

Baumler edged out defending champion Mike Reichenberger by 46 points. He only needed to complete one lap in the Labor Day 100's Pepsi late model A-feature to secure the championship.

Baumler ended up finishing an impressive fourth in the Labor Day 100, continuing his consistent string of top five finishes.

Possibly overshadowing Baumler's championship was the performance of Norway's Kris Kelly, who set fast time with a blistering 14.579 and then came from the rear of the field in the fast dash to edge out Mike Reichenberger.

Just as impressive was the fact that he started 12th in the Labor Day 100 and went on to win, completing the first clean sweep at Norway Speedway in many years.

In the Auto Value Super Stock Division, Mark Jenshak of Escanaba used his experience in keeping the Auto Value super stock track championship in the family. Ron Jenshak won track championships in 2006, 2007, 2008 and 2009 while Mark prevailed in 2010, 2011 and 2012.

Jenshak, who was down by close to 30 points at the midseason mark, maintained his poise and used some consistent finishes in the second half of the season to overtake Ryan Wender and Brett Bray for the championship.

The Auto Value super stock A-feature was led by 2012 Sands champion Steve Pepin for four laps until rookie driver Tanner Kelly of Norway took the lead.

On lap 20, Ryan Wender of Upper Pine Creek overtook Kelly and went on to win his fourth feature event of the season. Jim Stachowicz of Norway was second, followed by Bray, runner-up in championship points.

In the Dairy Queen Dog Fab Four Division, Cody Skog won his second track championship in a dominant fashion by defeating Trever Cronick by 105 points.

NOTES: Anthony Paupore became a first-time winner by capturing a late model heat race ... The late model B-feature was marred by nine caution flags ... In the first super stock heat, Jim Stachowicz and Jeff Boettcher raced side by side for seven laps before Stachowicz edged him out.

Results follow:

Late model

Fast time - Kris Kelly, 14.579.

Dash - 1. Kris Kelly; 2. Mike Reichenberger.

A-Feature - 1. Kris Kelly; 2. Tom Lindquist; 3. Tom Gee Jr.; 4. Jay Baumler Jr.; 5. Greg Haese; 6. Mike Reichenberger; 7. Tony Wells; 8. Mike D'Angelo Jr..

Heat race winners - Shawn Majkrzak, Anthony Paupore and Tom Lindquist.

B-Feature - 1. Reagon May; 2. Scott Stanchina; 3. Kris Oliver; 4. Bruce White; 5. Shawn Majkrzak.

Super Stock

Fast time - Mike Bubloni Jr., 16.294.

Dash - 1. Mark Jenshak; 2. Brett Bray.

First heat - 1. Jim Stachowicz; 2. Jeff Boettcher.

A-feature - 1. Ryan Wender; 2. Jim Stachowicz; 3. Brett Bray; 4. Mark Jenshak; 5. Tanner Kelly; 6. Neal Sannes; 7. Steve Pepin; 8. Jeff Beottcher.

Fab Four

First heat - 1. Matt Adams; 2. Cody Skog; 3. Rick St. Vincent. The

Second heat - 1. Rhianna Carne; 2. Jim Stanchina; 3. Trever Cronick.

B-Feature - 1. Chad Kay; 2. Dan Artibee; 3. Jeremy Kay; 4. Anthony Schiefelbein.

A-Feature - 1. Matt Adams; 2. Cody Skog; 3. Rhianna Carne.

Wisconsin Sport Trucks

Fast qualifier - Brian Vixmer, 16.436.

Dash - 1. Eric Johnson; 2. Blaine Habeck.

First heat - 1. Jason Plutz; 2. Brian Vixmer.

Feature - 1. Brent Vanhorn; 2. Brian Monday; 3. Brian Vixmer; 4. Jason Plutz; 5. Kyle Quella.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web