Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Staff Contacts | Home RSS

GNC selects top athletes

Hofer is Coach of the Year

October 23, 2012
The Daily News

ESCANABA - Kingsford's Reed Larson and Hilding Beaudoin along with Coach Chris Hofer gained major football honors from the Great Northern Conference.

League coaches named senior running back Larson (6, 210) and Escanaba quarterback Dave Falish as co-offensive players of the year. Larson has rushed for 1,407 yards on 115 attempts for a 7.5 average. Falish racked up nearly 1,925 yards of total offense, gaining nearly 1,300 yards on the ground and scoring 24 total touchdowns.

Beaudoin (6-2, 245), a senior, was named Defensive Player of the Year and made the team as an offensive lineman and a defensive lineman.

Article Photos

Reed Larson

Hofer was Coach of the Year after guiding the Flivvers to a 4-0 league record and the GNC conference crown.

Joe Iwanicki of Marquette was named Lineman of the Year.

Six Flivvers received first-team honors - Larson, running back; Aidan Wienke, end and defensive back; Gabe Swanson, kicker; Beaudoin, offensive and defensive lineman; Sean Ryan, linebacker and punter, and Cole Tengesdahl, defensive back.

Four Flivvers claimed honorable mention - Mike McCole, center; Mike Peterson, defensive line; Caleb Harrington, quarterback, and Conner Berndt, linebacker.

All-GNC team follows:


Quarterback - Dave Falish, Escanaba.

Running back - Alex Sherbinow, Marquette; James Brown, Menominee; Reed Larson, Kingsford.

End - Aidan Wienke, Kingsford; Jared Rivard, Menominee; Bryan Hines, Menominee.

Line - Colin Modschiedler, Menominee; Nate Marcin, Menominee; Joe Iwanicki, Marquette; Jared Gigot Marquette; Hilding Beaudoin Kingsford; Dave Fix, Escanaba.

Return specialist - Bryan Hines, Menominee.

Kicker - Gabe Swanson, Kingsford.


Line - Hilding Beaudoin, Kingsford; Steve Strom, Gladstone; Joe Iwanicki, Marquette; Chris Briar, Menominee; Jeremy Rivard, Menominee.

Linebacker - Alex Sherbinow, Marquette; Sean Ryan. Kingsford; Casey Deshambo, Escanaba.

Back - Aidan Wienke, Kingsford; Cole Tengesdahl, Kingsford; Devon Harris, Menominee; Dave Falish, Escanaba.

Punter - Sean Ryan, Kingsford.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web