Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Staff Contacts | Home RSS

Binks off to state tourney

Squirt ‘B’ team captures District 8 championship

February 21, 2013
The Daily News

IRON MOUNTAIN - The Dickinson Amateur Hockey Association Binks Squirts are state bound.

Binks won the District 8 tournament to advance to the Squirt B state playoffs in Trenton March 15-17.

Binks defeated Ishpeming Concrete 4-1 to open the tournament and followed with a 5-2 victory over Newberry. The next day, Binks fell to Escanaba U.P. State Bank 5-4.

Article Photos

Dickinson Amateur Hockey Association Binks captured the Squirts District 8 tournament and are now headed to the state finals March 15-17. Front row from left — Cody Gunville, Zackery Wood, Hunter Fortner, Henry McRoberts, Conn Davis, Carter Kreski, Eleanor Vross. Middle — Joshua Gendron, Brandon Dishaw, Jack Perpich, Marcus Michaud, Daniel Maki, Nick Saari. Back row — Coaches Lee Hauswirth, Dennis Perpich, Kirk Fortner.

In the semifinals, Binks downed Calumet 7-2. Jack Perpich opened the scoring on a sliding-on-the-ice backhanded goal.

Down 2-0 to Ironwood in the finals, Josh Gendron led the charge back in the second period with a goal. Marcus Michaud pounded in the second marker 10 seconds later. Less than a minute after that, Carter Kreski put in the third tally. Binks went on to a 5-3 victory.

Coaches commended a complete team effort and solid goaltending by Zackery Wood in helping the team advance to the state finals.

Binks has a chance to become the second area team in as many seasons to win a Squirt B state title. Iron River Ice Hawks took last year's championship with a 3-2 win over St. Ignace.

Summary follows (Goals-Assists):

Carter Kreski (13-2), Jack Perpich (3-4), Hunter Fortner (3-3), Marcus Michaud (3-2), Drandon Dishaw (1-1), Joshua Gendron (1-0), Nick Saari (0-1), Cody Gunville (0-1), Henry McRoberts (1-0).



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web