Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Staff Contacts | Home RSS
 
 
 

U.P. ladies golf follows men’s lead

June 19, 2013
The Daily News

IRON MOUNTAIN - U.P. Golf Association men's championships switched to a Thursday-through-Sunday format last year.

The ladies are also changing days in the hopes of expanding the field.

The 87th annual U.P. Ladies Golf Association Championships will take place Saturday, July 13, through Tuesday, July 16, at Ishpeming's Wawonowin Country Club. The ladies, in the past, played Monday though Thursday.

U.P. Golf Association men's tournament experienced success with a Thursday-through-Sunday schedule at Iron Mountain's Pine Grove Country Club. Those days will remain for this year's tourney, Aug. 8-11, at Manistique's Indian Lake Golf Course.

U.P. Ladies Golf Association schedule began earlier this month with a four-woman scramble at Norway's Oak Crest Golf Course.

The women's schedule is also highlighted by the U.P. Dual, a best ball-scramble event set for Monday, June 24, and Tuesday, June 25, at Pine Grove Country Club.

U.P. Ladies Golf Association schedule for 2013 follows:

JUNE

Wednesday, June 19 - George Young Complex, three-woman scramble.

Thursday, June 20 - Ontonagon Golf Club, best ball/scramble

Monday, June 24, and Tuesday, June 25 - Pine Grove Country Club, U.P. Dual

Thursday, June 27 - Irish Oaks Golf Course (Gladstone), three-woman Big Cup

Sat., June 29, and Sunday, June 30 - Gladstone Golf Club, couples.

JULY

Tuesday, July 9 - Iron River Country Club, two-person scramble (Rally for Cure); Portage Lake Golf Club (Houghton), two-person scramble.

Wednesday, July 10 - Highland (Escanaba), three-man scramble.

Thursday, July 11 - Gladstone Golf Club, women's best ball.

Saturday, July 13, and Sunday, July 14 - Irish Oaks Golf Course (Gladstone), couples scramble.

Saturday, July 13, to Tuesday, July 16 - Wawonowin Country Club, UPLGA tournament.

Sat., July 20 - Portage Lake Golf Club, couples scramble.

Sunday, July 21 - Oak Crest Golf Course (Norway), two-woman best ball.

Saturday, July 27 - Indian Lake Golf & Country Club, three-woman scramble.

Tuesday, July 30 - Four Seasons Golf Club (Pembine), women's scramble.

Wednesday, July 31 - Escanaba Country Club, three-woman scramble.

AUGUST

Thursday, Aug. 1 - Sault Ste. Marie Country Club, three-woman scramble.

Sat., Aug. 3 - Oaks of Kincheloe, couples; Sault Ste. Marie Country Club, couples; Wawonowin, three-woman scramble.

Monday, Aug. 5 - Irish Oaks Golf Course (Gladstone), U.P. senior women.

Tuesday, Aug. 6 - Little River Country Club (Marinette), three-woman scramble.

Thursday, Aug. 8 - Ontonagon Golf Club, Ryder Cup.

Saturday, Aug. 10 - Marquette Golf & Country Club, couples scramble Greywalls.

Saturday, Aug. 10, and Sunday, Aug. 11 - Riverside Golf Club (Menominee), couples.

Saturday, Aug. 10, and Sunday, Aug. 11 - Sault Ste. Marie (Ontario), mixed.

Saturday, Aug, 10 - Wawonowin, couples.

Sunday, Aug. 11 - Pine Grove, three-woman scramble.

Sunday, Aug. 11, and Monday, Aug. 12 - Wild Bluff Bay Mills (Brimley), four-woman scramble.

Tuesday, Aug. 13 - Oaks of Kincheloe, four-woman scramble.

Wednesday, Aug. 14 - Marquette Golf & Country Club, two-woman best ball (Greywalls).

Saturday, Aug. 17, and Sunday, Aug, 18 - Little River CC (Marinette), couples Ryder Cup.

Thursday, Aug. 22 - Escanaba CC, two-woman scramble.

Sat., Aug. 24 - Gladstone Golf Club, three-woman scramble; Irish Oaks, senior couples scramble.

Wednesday, Aug. 28 - Oak Crest Golf Course, two-woman scramble.

Saturday, Aug. 31, and Sunday, Sept. 1 - Escanaba CC, couples.

SEPTEMBER

Saturday, Sept. 7, and Sunday, Sept. 8 - Oak Crest Golf Course, U.P. husband-wife tourney.

Sunday, Sept. 8 - Indian Lake Golf & Country Club, couples.

Monday, Sept. 9 - St. Germain (Northwood), three-person scramble.

Sat., Sept. 14 - Indian Lake, three-person scramble.

Saturday, Sept. 28, and Sunday, Sept. 29 - Wild Bluff, Bay Mills (Brimley), Snowball Open.

 
 

 

I am looking for:
in:
News, Blogs & Events Web