Boys Basketball: Norway’s Ortman premier SCC player

NORWAY — Norway’s Connor Ortman has been named the Skyline Central Conference Player of the Year.

Ortman, who averaged 19.4 points and 9.1 rebounds per game, will play next season at Lakeland University in Sheboygan, Wis.

Coaches made the all-conference selections over the weekend.

North Central senior Lucas Dombrowski was selected to the first-team with Ryan Arndt of Bark River-Harris; Preston Lauscher of Carney-Nadeau; Terry Brower of Mid Peninsula; Alec Blank and Cade Contreras of Munising; Logan Hardwick of Rapid River; and Joe Heinonen of Superior Central.

Arndt was also the conference’s top free-throw shooter.

Forest Park senior Josh Logan, North Central sophomore Noah Gorzinski and Norway senior Josh Plante made the second team with Logan Heim of Bark River; Jake Kleiman of Carney; Lucas Sundling of Rapid Rover; and Joe Starzynski of Stephenson.

Cam Willemsen of Rapid River and Ben Schultz of Bark River shared defensive player of the year honors. Plante, Gorzinski, Sundling, Kleiman and Forest Park junior Max Nylund landed all-defensive team berths with Brett Laford of Carney, Jesus Becerra of Stephenson; Anthony Matson of Munising; and Bo Rondeau of Superior Central.

Forest Park and North Dickinson shared the team sportsmanship award. Individual sportsmanship award went to Jordan Janofski of Carney.

Bark River’s Jim VanEnkevort and Rapid River’s Rich Poma tied for coach of the year.

Munising won the varsity large-school division championship and North Central was the small-school winner. For the junior varsity level, Bark River (large) and Rapid River (small) took honors.

Forest Park’s Riley Hendrickson, North Central’s Trenton Schaff, North Dickinson’s Jared Miller and Joe Roell; and Norway’s Micah Wilson received honorable mention with Schultz; Chris Chaperon of Big Bay de Noc; Dylan Trudell of Mid Peninsula; Willemsem and

Tyler Sundling; Rapid River; and Levi Charlebois of Superior Central received honorable mention.