IM’s Johnson named premier player

Wonders first team


NEGAUNEE — Marcus Johnson, who led Iron Mountain to the Mid-Peninsula Conference basketball championship, has been named the league’s player of the year.

The sophomore guard topped the MPC in scoring with a 24.7 average. The two-year starter owns an 82.5 percent free throw mark this season and has 212 career assists for a 4.8 average.

Mountaineer freshman teammate Foster Wonders, who averaged 20.3 points per game, made the All-MPC first-team with Ishpeming senior Hart Holmgren, Gladstone junior

Reese Castor and senior Brad Spindler, and Negaunee sophomore Jason Waterman.

Coaches also selected Iron Mountain junior Charlie Gerhard to the second-team with Gwinn juniors Tucker Taylor and Austin Forbes, Ishpeming juniors Darius Yohe and Gavin Sundberg, and Westwood senior David Delarye.

Mountaineers’ Gerhard and junior Jaden Vicenzi earned All-MPC defensive team spots with Castor, Drew Dushane of Negaunee and Yohe.

Honorable mention went to Negaunee’s Jacob Ennett, Gladstone’s Rudy Peterson and Westwood’s Nathan Beckman.