Mountaineers’ Poupore selected to first team

NEGAUNEE — Iron Mountain junior Riley Poupore has been selected to the All-Mid-Peninsula Conference girls basketball first team.

Poupore was the MPC’s third-leading scorer with a 16.1 average.

MPC coaches named Ishpeming senior Madigan Johns as the player of the year.

The other first-team picks are Negaunee seniors Natalie Bartle and Clara Johnson, Westwood sophomore Madelyn Koski, and Ishpeming senior Mariah Austin.

Miners’ Johnson was named MPC Defensive Player of the Year. Katie Loman of Ishpeming, Aidan Reath of Westwood,

Trisha McGuire of Gwinn, Natalie Bartle of Negaunee and Kaitlyn Hardwick of Gladstone filled out the all-defensive squad.

The second-team consists of Westwood sophomore Tessa Leece and senior Elizabeth Farley, Negaunee junior Abby Nelson, Ishpeming senior Chloe Sjoholm, and Gladstone senior Taylor Hunter.

Honorable mentions included Tierra Taylor and Trisha McGuire of Gwinn, Kaitlyn Hardwick and Megan Crow of Gladstone, and Katie Loman of Ishpeming.