‘Ritz’ scholarships awarded at Bay West

Pictured are Dickinson Area Chamber of Commerce “The Ritz” scholarship recipients with sponsoring businesses. From left, front, are Danielle Harms, Karanda Smith and Mary Murray; second row, Peyton Carlson and Mickayla Stretter; third row, Mia Fairchild, Katrina Townsend and Bay College West Director Gina Wollner; fourth row, Christian Tregillis, Dayna Nault of M.J. Electric, Jen Kirk of Boss Snowplows and Laura Maloney of Bay College West; fifth row, Heidi Teafoe of ManorCare Nursing and Rehabilitation Center, Scott Reddinger of VAST and Suzanne Larson, executive director of the Dickinson Area Chamber of Commerce; back row, Matt Lutz and Russ Kassin, both of First National Bank & Trust.

IRON MOUNTAIN – The Dickinson Area Chamber of Commerce is proud to announce the winners of “The Ritz” scholarships.

A record-setting year of 11 scholarships were awarded. Underwriters for the $5,500 scholarships to Bay College West Campus in Iron Mountain were Boss Snowplow, CCI Systems, Forty-Four North, LaFaive Convenience Stores, ManorCare Nursing and Rehabilitation Center, The Midwest Mini Storage and Movers, M.J. Electric Inc., Integra First Federal Credit Union and VAST.

This was the first year that First National Bank & Trust partnered with the Chamber of Commerce to offer a $1,000 scholarship.

This marks the 13th year that scholarships have been underwritten for traditional and non-traditional students attending Bay College West in Iron Mountain, valued at $50,000.

Winners of the traditional scholarships from Iron Mountain High School were Mia Fairchild, Peyton Carlson, Kiara Hood, Clover Steva and Christian Tregillis. The recipients from North Dickinson High School were Mary Murray, Karanda Smith, Mickayla Stretter and Katrina Townsend. Recipient from Norway High School was Danielle Harms.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)