Wrestling: Westwood wins first MPC title

3 Mountaineers wrestlers take individual titles

ISHPEMING — Westwood captured their first Mid-Peninsula Conference tournament championship in 13 years Saturday.

Westwood head coach Dan Carlson said was proud of his teams confidence throughout the match.

“We came in with a young team and went after everybody,” Carlson said. “We told the kids we had a good chance of winning this, and that was all the fire they needed to keep going.

“We’ve been doing really well all season with the team we have.”

Iron Mountain had three wrestlers bring home championships, including Braydon Fitzpatrick (215), Aaron Bolo (189) and Dylan Hoffart (130). Mountaineers coach Brandon Rutter said Bolo improved his record to 31-0; Fitzpatrick, 31-3, and Hoffart, 25-7.

Joe Comstock was runner-up at 171. Devin Dickerson (152) took third.

For Westwood senior Wyatt Makosky, the championship was important to earn in his last few weeks wrestling as a Patriot.

“This means a lot for our seniors,” Makosky said. “It’s our last year and we want to reach as many accomplishments as we can. We care a lot about each other.”

Westwood’s 144 points landed them in first place, followed by Ishpeming with 118.

Negaunee finished third with 117 points, while Manistique finished fourth with 79.

Iron Mountain’s 73 points landed them fifth, while Gwinn came in sixth with 40 points.

Westwood had three kids win championship matches, and had six others compete in the championship round.

Wyatt Makosky won the 135 weight class for the Patriots, while Brandon Perry took the 125 and Wyatt Carlson finished atop the 112 class.

“There wasn’t just one kid who stood out above the rest,” Dan Carlson said.

“Every kid showed up ready to compete, and it was a team effort.”

Iron Mountain will face Kingsford to start the MHSAA Division 3 District 165 team wrestling tournament Thursday at Iron Mountain High School.

The Mountaineers and Flivvers will meet at 5 p.m. in one semifinal. The other semifinal matches Negaunee and Menominee.

District winner advances to Gladstone for the team regional.

Mid-Peninsula Conference results:

Standings: Westwood 44, Ishpeming 118, Negaunee 117, Manistique 79, Iron Mountain 73, Gwinn 40

103 — Nathan Brewer (N) pinned Christian Corello (I)

112 — Wyatt Carlson (W) pinned Tony Williams (M)

119 — Jeremy Hill (N) pinned Tyler Lindholm (W)

125 — Brandon Perry (W) pinned Kaiden Fox (I)

130 — Dylan Hoffart (IM) pinned Cedric Nora (W)

135 — Wyatt Makosky (W) pinned Jaden Martinez (G)

140 — Daren Guichin (I) Carter Guidebeck (W)

145 — Louis Berry (M) pinned Elek Kallioinen (W)

152 — Justin Karnack (I) pinned Zack Champion(N)

160 — Ryan Kemp (I) pinned Alarie Martin (W)

171 — Sam Collins (N) pinned Joe Comstock (IM)

189 — Aaron Bolo (IM) pinned Kevin Roberts (G)

215 — Braydon Fitzpatrick (IM) pinned Sam Gillies (W)

285 — Mike Pizziola (N) pinned Caleb Swanson (M)