Gold Medal crowns Perronville, Carney teams

HERMANSVILLE — Perronville Bloniarz Farms and Carney Juiced Apparel have captured the first two championships in the 81st Gold Medal Classic basketball tournament in the Community Club gym.

Jason Boucher’s 19 points led Bloniarz Farms past Stephenson Wilson Farms 79-75 in the Class B championship. Bryce Bilski led Wilson with 24 points. Bloniarz’s Jacob Polfus was named Class B most valuable player.

In the Class C final, Tom Granquist scored 17 points as Carney Juiced Apparel topped Iron River Shamco 66-59. Dave Pellizzer paced Shamco with 24 points. Class C MVP went to Shamco’s Caleb Pellizzer.

In Class B preliminaries starting Saturday, Wilson Farms overcame 33 points from Rob Granquist to beat Hermansville Moonlight Graphics 77-68. Bilski had 21 for Wilson.

Boucher’s 21 points sparked Bloniarz past Powers Lee’s Greenery 69-55. Bloniarz, behind Mike Polfus’ 29 points, rolled past Dickinson County Prophets 111-77. Zach Inlet and Zach Johnson each had 17 for DCP.

Bloniarz needed overtime to edge Wilson 85-81. Jared Benson scored 19 points for Bloniarz. Lee’s Greenery, led by Travis Vincent’s 23 points, clipped Moonlight 77-65. Rob Granquist had 30 points for Moonlight.

Wilson advanced to the double-elimination finals by nipping Lee’s Greenery 69-68. Travis Wangerin had 20 points for Wilson.

In other Class C games, Jordan Miller’s 19 points led Menominee Murray’s Pub over De Pere Arms of Angels 63-59. Shamco, a Gold Medal participant for over 20 years, downed Murray’s 64-56 behind Ryan Shamion’s 23 points.

The weekend Class D games began with Pat Flood’s 17 points igniting Iron Mountain Dave’s Auto Sales past Stephenson Wilson Logging 58-51. Wallace Jim’s Plumbing downed Shamco 60-39.

Logan Hardwick and Ty Thomann each scored 21 points as Dave’s drilled Jim’s 64-37.

In Class E, Janssen Baij’s 18 points carried Felch Solberg’s past Wallace Jim’s Plumbing 58-44.

Wallace Jim’s Plumbing, with Tony Grombi and Joe Simon each scoring 23 Points, tripped Marquette Upbeat Sports 76-61 in Class EE. Josh Beauchamp’s 19 points boosted Norton past Eagle River DNA 86-60. Hermansville Whitens Kiln & Lumber thumped Norway Adam Faull 60-35 behind Tyler Verhagen’s 19 points. Nick Bal had 12 for Norway.

The tournament resumes Friday night.

Gold Medal all-tournament teams:

Class C

Caleb Pellizzer – Iron River Shamco (Class C MVP, recipient of Donald Hill Trophy)

Jordan Miller – Menominee Murray’s Pub

Joe Schomer – De Pere (Wis.) Arms of Angels

Tom Granquist – Carney Juiced Apparel

Joe Gibbs – Escanaba 3’s Company

Paul Angeli – Iron River Shamco

Joe Pontbriand – Carney Juiced Apparel

Jake Brock – Carney Juiced Apparel

Ryan Shamion – Iron River Shamco

Class B

Jacob Polfus – Perronville Bloniarz Farms (Class B MVP; recipient of Frank Rodman trophy)

Mike Polfus – Perronville Bloniarz Farms

Jordan Chartier – Stephenson Wilson Farms

Josh Granquist – Hermansville Moonlight Graphics

Rob Granquist – Hermansville Moonlight Graphics

Bryce Bilski – Stephenson Wilson Farms

Jared Benson – Perronville Bloniarz Farms

Jordan Birth – Stephenson Wilson Farms

Travis Vincent – Powers Lee’s Greenery

Trevor Krizenski – Powers Lee’s Greenery