Students installed into Niagara National Honor Society

Officials of Niagara High School have announced that 13 students have been chosen for membership in the Niagara, Wis., chapter of the National Honor Society. From left, seated are newly installed members of 2019 Cassie Gill, Jaida Maki, Lexi Maycunich, Sydney Dunkes, Olivia Brasure and Bailey Broullire. Standing are newly installed members of 2019 Isabel Wells, Josh Weber, Brady Steinbrecher and Brooke Schwedersky; senior members of 2018 Madison Bjorkman, Austin Tripp and Jen Olsen; and newly installed members of 2019 Jayden Payette, Jessica Oratch and Anne Nanninga. The Niagara Chapter of the National Honor Society began in 1946. With the inclusion of this year’s group, 637 students will have been installed at Niagara High School. In order to be considered for membership, students must maintain at least a 3.25 grade-point average and be a member of the junior or senior class. Faculty members rank each student in terms of scholarship, character, leadership and service to school and community. The committee then evaluates each candidate and his or her personal essay before making the final selection. The local chapter is sponsored by the Niagara Student Council and is organized nationally by the National Association of Secondary School Principals.