Three area school boards set officers for year

IM board retains officer lineup



Staff Writer

IRON MOUNTAIN — All officers were re-elected during the Iron Mountain School Board reorganizational meeting Monday.

They are: Rob Langsford, president; Lisa Basanese, vice president; Steve Brooks, treasurer; and Lisa Carollo, secretary.

Superintendent Jerry Sardina announced the inaugural Pride Awards go to Hailey Greenleaf, an eighth-grade student; Peggy Geyser, administrative assistant at North Elementary; and Jackie and Jennifer Geneva, education assistants.

Sardina said they plan to give the awards each month and the number of awards may vary. The awards will come from the board but be chosen by the principals through nominations. The board also was honored for school board month.

In other business, the board:

— Learned from Sardina the district has complied with items needed to seek a state Competitive School Safety Grant once the application period opens Jan. 31. One of the main requirement is having a school safety plan, which the board approved in December. Districts can receive $50,000 per building for a total of $250,000 to the used for equipment and technology to improve safety, he said, adding that schools that have not previously received a grant will be given priority.

— Approved the resignation of high school math teacher Harvey Johnson, who will retire at the end of the school year; educational aide Cathy Gendreau; and secretary Suzanne McMahan. Gendreau will move to a part-time position with the school scholarship fund, with a salary paid through the academic booster club.

— Authorized hiring retired teacher Steve Cavalieri as a substitute teacher and Ashley Servant and Cody Lewandowski as new bus drivers.

— Learned the district has a projected fund balance of $293,495.

New treasurer for Breitung board


Staff Writer

KINGSFORD — The Breitung Township School Board set its officers for the year Monday.

The board voted to keep Bob Hendrickson as president, David Kashian as vice president and Joanne To as secretary. Douglas McDowell replaces Mark Pugh as treasurer. Jennifer Huotari will remain election officer.

The board also voted to continue to retain as legal counsel Peter W. Ryan of Iron Mountain, Thrun Law Firm of Lansing, Steven D. Lowe of Lansing, Clark Hill of Grand Rapids and Naumcheff Law Offices of Grand Rapids.

In other business, the board accepted the resignation of educational assistant Kim Howard, as she is moving out of the area.

The board next will meet at 7 p.m. Feb. 10.

Same officers at North Dickinson


Managing editor

FELCH TOWNSHIP — Carl Steinbrecher will continue as president of the North Dickinson County School Board.

The board Monday voted to keep all officers in place: Lynn Oman as vice president, Marsha Hord as secretary and Jacquelen Schemmel as treasurer.

In other business, the board:

— Retained Michigan Broadband Services of Carney as internet service provider for the 2020-21 school year effective June 30, at a cost of $1,691 per month for 100 MB. Mike Roell, district finance director, said the district is reimbursed for 70% of the cost through the federal E-Rate program.

— Approved a senior citizen rate of $3 per game. The cost for adults will remain at $5, and students will pay $2. Senior citizens — ages 60 and older — already can obtain a season pass for $30.

— Decided to retain Thrun Law Firm of East Lansing as the district’s legal counsel, as it has for several years.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today