IM board presents school Pride awards

Iron Mountain Board of Education awarded its February 2020 Pride Awards to senior student Jake Dumais and science teacher Rhonda Carey at the February regular board meeting. From left are treasurer Steve Brooks, trustee Geno Basanese, Jake Dumais, Rhonda Carey, secretary Lisa Carollo, trustee Foz Burgoon, trustee Scott Celello and president Rob Langsford. Not pictured is vice president Lisa Basanese.

IRON MOUNTAIN — The Iron Mountain School Board has tapped two in the district for Pride awards.

The awards, given monthly to students or staff members who represent Mountaineer spirit and district pride, were presented to Rhonda Carey, a science teacher who has been with the district 25 years, and senior Jacob Dumais, the son of Danielle and Joe Dumais of Iron Mountain.

The board also approved creating a district-wide Professional Development Advisory Committee as recommended by Superintendent Jerry Sardina.

To go along with the committee, the board also allowed using up to 38 hours of Qualifying Professional Development as hours of student instruction, as was approved by the state department of education.

In addition, Sardina introduced his proposed strategic plan for the district, which includes creating a committee to collect data, a vision statement, mission statement and long-term goals for the district. It will be discussed at the March meeting, with the goal of having a plan in place by April 2021.

The board also:

— Accepted resignations from Sheila Beauchamp as East Elementary educational assistant; Dean Lefebvre as girls volunteer head varsity softball coach; Kevin Sullivan as head varsity track coach; Michelle Herman as homework hour supervisor for seventh through 12th grades; and Virginia Adams, IMHP teacher of record.

— Accepted retirement notices from Ruth Truscott and Loralee Springer, effective June 1.

— Approved hiring Bridget DeYoung as middle school and high school English/social studies teacher; Dave Hendrick as Central Middle School and Iron Mountain High School educational assistant; Sheila Beauchamp as administrative assistant in the high school building; Suzanne McMahon, IM-K Community Schools administrative assistant; Bruce Tapio as part-time adult education teacher for Dickinson and Iron County Correctional sites; Karla LaDuron as food service worker; Amy Pietrantonio as Spirit Store advisor; Bonnie Greenleaf and Kristin Stanchina as middle school student council advisors; and Samantha Roberts as drone coach.

Marguerite Lanthier can be reached at 906-774-3500, ext. 242, or mlanthier@ironmountaindailynews.com.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)