Springer twins, Beaster take top Bobcats’ honors

Jenna and Jordyn Springer, left and right, and Evan Beaster, center, received Florence High School's premier student-athlete awards Wednesday. (Burt Angeli/The Daily News)

FLORENCE, Wis. — Florence High School’s formula for selecting the premier student-athletes came up with senior Evan Beaster for the boys and a tie for the girls during the school’s 50th annual awards ceremony Wednesday

The Springer twins, juniors Jenna and Jordyn, shared the Ginny Ehrenreich Memorial Female Athlete of the Year Award.

Beaster received the David Wenzel Memorial Male Athlete of the Year Award.

The memorial awards are voted by the school’s coaches and the ratings are put into a formula, according to master of ceremony and school principal Brandon Jerue.

The siblings’ similar athletic ability was even recognized in the formula’s results.

“You can’t make this up, folks,” Jerue said in announcing the Springer sisters. “It came out to an exact tie to the decimal point.”

Jordyn Springer earned most improved in volleyball and outstanding offensive player in softball. Her coaches provided comments to Jerue.

“Outstanding team player who genuinely cares about her teammates,” Jerue said. “She’s always one of the first in the gym to get extra work.”

Jenna Springer was named girls basketball’s most valuable player and softball’s outstanding defensive player.

“She’s verbal on the court and an excellent team player,” Jerue said. “She’s hard-working and willing to play any position to help the team.”

Described as the “backbone” of the girls basketball, Jenna Springer registered a triple-double of point, rebounds and assists against Lena this past season.

“She has a positive attitude and makes everyone else on the team better,” Jerue said. “She’s always does what’s asked of her and puts the team in front of her.”

Both sisters are three-sport academic All-Northern Lakes Conference selections. They joined Eric DeCremer, Savannah Vassar and Joe Walstrom as the school’s four-year scholar-athletes.

Beaster, one of the state’s top rebounders, shared the boys basketball MVP with Kaden Schuls. Beaster also accepted the golf MVP along with football’s most improved award.

“He’s described by his coaches as having a knack for timely plays,” Jerue said. “He gives his all for his teammates and coaches. He is a great representative of the school district.”

The Florence Athletic Booster Club, which may have to fold due to lack of volunteers, has sponsored all 50 athletic awards programs.

“We need people to step up,” said boys basketball coach and booster club president Bryan Bomberg.

Cassie Larson received the K. Casey Constantini Memorial Scholarship. Larson and Joe Walstrom were nominated by Florence for the WIAA scholar-athlete award.

Florence, which shared the 2018 conference volleyball title, appears to be short on numbers at this time for next season.

“We’ll be big in commitment and dedication,” said coach Joan Canfield.

Karmen Anderson accepted the volleyball MVP.

“Karmen is one of the most talented players I have ever coached,” Canfield said.

Florence’s 2019 football schedule features defending eight-player state champion Sevastopol.

“We have a challenge ahead of us,” said coach Kent Walstrom.

“Our success surpassed expectations,” said retiring wrestling coach Jeff Conroy of the team’s season.

The Bobcats’ girls basketball team posted a grade point average of 3.825.

Baseball coach Dave LaPoint, who recorded his 400th career win Tuesday, received a bat, ball and team picture from the booster club.

Bomberg said the boys basketball team has “lofty goals for next season. I promise you we will work hard.”

Northwoods Storm, a track co-op of Florence and Niagara athletes, had 32 personal records in the M&O Conference meet.

Florence’s softball team, with just one senior, has won nine of its last 10 games.

“We’re pretty strong in all areas,” said Dan Robinson, who calls softball coaching his favorite job.

Here are the awards:

Football — Eric DeCremer, Gary Liebergen, Kaden Schuls, Joe Walstrom and Toby Wheeler, MVP; Evan Beaster, most improved; Coleton Armstrong and Bryce Larson, Vaughn Neuens Memorial Award

Volleyball — Karmen Anderson, MVP; Jordyn Springer, most improved; Madison Neuens, spirit award

Cross country — Tristen Mascarette and Faith Neuens, MVP

Girls Basketball — Jenna Springer, MVP; Haley Behrmann and Faith Neuens, Bobcat Mentality Award

Boys Basketball — Kaden Schuls and Evan Beaster, MVP

Wrestling — Tristen Mascarette, MVP; Coleton Armstrong, most improved

Softball — Sydney Tomczak, MVP; Jordyn Springer, outstanding offense; Jenna Springer, outstanding defense; Faith Neuens, most improved

Baseball — Toby Wheeler, most improved

Track — Audrey Selden and Riley Hixon, MVP

Golf — Evan Beaster and Matthew Johnson, MVP