Noah and Luke Gorzinski earn all-state honorable mention

LANSING — The 2019-20 Associated Press Division 4 boys basketball All-State team as selected by a panel of 10 Michigan sports writers, was released Monday evening. Two area players were named as honorable mention — North Central senior Noah Gorzinski and freshman Luke Gorzinski.

Named Player of the Year was senior DaiJion Humphrey of Southfield Christian. Coach of the Year was awarded to Clennie Brundidge of Southfield Christian.

Other first team picks included U.P. players Ashton Janke of Dollar Bay and Nick Edington of Pickford.

Senior guard Brett LaFord of Carney-Nadeau was the lone U.P. player selected to the second team.

Joining the Gorzinskis as U.P. honorable mentions were Jaden Borseth, Ewen-Trout Creek So; Tyler Sundling, Rapid River Sr.; Davin Hill, Dollar Bay Jr.; Zach Gross, Brimley Sr. and Zach Englund, Mid-Peninsula Sr.

FIRST TEAM: DaiJion Humphrey, Southfield Christian, Sr.; Ashton Janke, Dollar Bay, Sr. Nick Edington, Pickford, Sr. Blake Goodman of Novi Christian Academy Jr.; Joseph Kimmerer of Hale Sr.; Blake Cassidy of Pellston Sr.; Jack Stefanski of Frankfort Jr.; Chase Ingersoll of Fife Lake Forest Area Sr.; Jared Dugener of Muskegon Catholic Central Sr.; Conor Gausselin of Battle Creek St. Philip Sr. and Brendan Busch of Will Carleton Academy Sr.

SECOND TEAM: Brett LaFord, Carney-Nadeau, Sr.; Nolan Julio, Marine City Cardinal Mooney, Sr.; Brady Titus, Tri-unity Christian, So.; Kaeler Stafne, Marcellus, Sr.; Noah Rheker, Southfield Christian, Sr.; Johnathan Blackwell, Novi Christian Academy, Fr.; James Felton, Lansing Christian, Sr.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)