Niagara honors athletes with virtual awards ceremony

Oratch and Weber earn scholar athlete nominations

(Theresa Proudfit/Daily News Photo) Niagara’s Cassandra Gill (23) and Jessica Oratch (5) defend a hit in a match versus Suring in 2019. Both Gill and Oratch were among Niagara’s athletic award winners announced on Sunday.

NIAGARA, Wis. — On Sunday evening the Niagara High School athletic department had a virtual athletics awards ceremony, giving out various individual awards, including the team MVP awards.

Athletic Director Scott Trevillian and various coaches appeared in a pre-recorded video. A link was posted to the school’s website.

The football team awards were given out back in November upon completion of their season.

The Badger/Predator award is voted on by the team. It’s given to a player who is hard working, shows team spirit and does what the coach asks.


MVP: Josh Wallschlaeger (Pembine); Lineman of the Year: Trentan Rea (Niagara)

Predator Award: Destany Bourassa (Niagara); Most Improved: Austin Plonke (Home School)

*co-op team with Goodman and Pembine


MVP: Cassandra Gill; Most Improved: Jessica Oratch; Coaches’ Award: Isabel Wells

Girls Basketball

MVP: Jessica Oratch and Alyssa Cretton; Badger Award: Cassandra Gill; Most Improved: Alyssa Cretton; Coaches’ Award: Sydney Dunkes

Boys Basketball

MVP: Josh Weber; Most Improved: Charles Schaefer; Badger Award: Logan Carlson


Most Improved: Andar Olson

*Co-op team with Florence, Goodman and Pembine


MVP: Hannah Pech

Coaches’ Award: Abigail Bousley

WIAA Scholar Athlete Nominees: Jessica Oratch and Josh Weber

WADA Award

Wisconsin Athletic Directors for fostering/contributing to athletics in the community: James “Hoogie” Hoogland


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)