Mondeik ices Zehr, captures Norway Speedway’s annual Stateline Challenge

(Kevin Lee photo) Vulcan’s Dan Lindsley turns into turn No. 4 at the Norway Speedway, during Friday’s Stateline Challenge. Lindsley was the top finishing local driver in the 75-lap event.

NORWAY — Gleason, Wis., driver Justin Mondeik slipped underneath Madison, Wis., driver Dalton Zehr with five laps remaining and held on to win the 37th annual Stateline Challenge presented by Island Resort & Casino & Aurora Liquors at Norway Speedway on Friday night.

Wausau, Wisconsin’s Mark Mackesy jumped into the lead at the outset of the 75-lap contest and held the top spot through a pair of early caution periods. Vulcan’s Dan Lindsley wrestled the lead away from Mackesy on lap nine and kept the lead for the next several circuits.

While Lindsley was enjoying his lead a three-car tussle ensued between Appleton, Wisconsin’s Andy Monday, Zehr and Mondeik. Monday snatched the lead away from Lindsley on lap 38 only to surrender the top spot to Zehr 10 laps later.

During the last third of the contest Mondeik reeled in Zehr and began applying the pressure. With five circuits remaining Mondeik ducked underneath Zehr to take the lead and cruise to the win. Zehr settled for second with Monday taking home third place money. Wisconsin drivers swept the top three spots with Lindsley representing Michigan with the best finish in fourth.

“I have all the respect in the world for Dalton and I didn’t mean to get into him a bit over in one and two towards the end,” Mondeik said. “We race a lot and Toby Nuttleman and the entire crew really put together a great car for me here tonight. We were happy to be racing up here.”

In the super stock division the champion came out swinging. 2019 champion Tim Schultz Jr. emerged triumphant in the 30 lap feature. Norway’s Joey Pontbriand, pulling double duty in a late model as well, finished second in Ryan Wender’s No. 00 car. Adam Faull, Andy Gerwig and Kelly LaCount placed third through fifth, respectively.

Other feature event winners included Freedom, Wisconsin’s Cody Vanderloop (sport trucks), Crivitz, Wis., driver Preston Weddle (stocks) and Vulcan’s Zach Gazda (4 cylinders).

This Friday night’s Spectator Eliminators will return to the third-mile, paved oval on Ford Airport/Stateline Apparel/Coleman Racing Products Night. Please check the website norwayspeedway.com and the speedway’s page on Facebook for further information or email ostermannjohn@hotmail.com.

RACE SUMMARY, Friday July, 3:

BINK’S COCA COLA SUPER LATE MODEL FEATURE – Justin Mondeik, Gleason, Wis; Dalton Zehr, Madison, Wis; Andy Monday, Appleton, Wis; Dan Lindsley, Vulcan; Mark Mackesy, Wausau, Wis; Jason Wells, Kingsford; Scott Stanchina, Kingsford; Alex Seidl, Appleton, Wis; Mike Lantange, Vulcan; Tanner Kelly, Waucenda, Wis; Bruce White, Kingsford; Mark Schroeder, Green Bay, Wis; Lou Goss, Green Bay, Wis; Cory Cootware, Iron Mountain; Travis Rodewald, Manitowoc, Wis; Mike Reichenberger, Appleton, Wis; Joey Pontbriand, Norway; Robby Iverson, Escanaba; Mike D’Angelo Jr., Marquette

SEMI-FEATURE – Cootware; White; Goss; Tim Howen, Niagara, Wis; Brett Breitenfeldt, Wausau, Wis; Robert Younger, De Pere, Wis.

HEATS 1st: Robert Younger; Cory Cootware

2nd: Bruce White; Scott Stanchina

3rd: Dan Lindsley; Mark Mackesy

DASH – Andy Monday

FAST TIME – Dalton Zehr, 14.422

AUTO VALUE SUPER STOCK FEATURE – Tim Schultz Jr., Vulcan; Pontbriand; Adam Faull, Vulcan; Andy Gerwig, Norway; Kelly LaCount, Athelstane, Wis

HEAT:Wayne Sonkowsky, Menasha, Wis.; Kevin Peterson, Marinette, Wis.

DASH – Joey Pontbriand

FAST TIME – Schultz, 15.846

141 AUTO SALES STOCK FEATURE – Preston Weddle, Crivitz, Wis.; Joe Ostermann, Norway; Bobby Lewis, Bark River; Nick Kroehler, Appleton, Wis.: Travis Hulsizer, Menominee

HEAT – Preston Weddle; Trevor Pankratz, Little Suamico, Wis.

FAST TIME – Travis Hulsizer, 18.203

KEN’S SPORTS SPORT TRUCK FEATURE – Cody Vanderloop, Freedom, Wis.; Brent Barglind, Kingsford; J.J. Vanderloop, Freedom, Wis.; Brad Barglind, Kingsford; Andy Secrist, Florence, Wis.

HEATS 1) Andy Secrist, Nick Lantange, Aurora, Wis.

2) Brent Barglind; J.J. Vanderloop

FAST TIME – Brent Barglind, 16.403

MC SIGNS & GRAPHICS 4 CYLINDER A FEATURE – Zach Gazda, Vulcan; Elliot Reid, Faithorn; Cory Grondine, Hermansville

HEATS 1) Cassandra Freeman, Niagara, Wis.; Will Stromming, Marinette, Wis.

2) Dean Bellmore, Hermansville; Elliot Reid, Faithorn

FAST TIME – Dean Bellmore, 18.202


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)