Niagara Area Scholarship Fund meeting Wednesday

NIAGARA, Wis. — President Jim Dunnick has announced that the annual meeting of the Niagara Area Scholarship Foundation will be at 4 p.m. Wednesday in the conference room at the Niagara office of Forward Financial Credit Union.

The purpose of the meeting will be to meet annual statutory obligations for the organization and to elect officers and trustees for the next year. The meeting is open to the public and anyone wishing to participate or become a member is welcome to attend.

The regular monthly meeting will be held immediately after the annual meeting. One item to be addressed will be to review the status of its current fund drive and determine how many scholarships the organization will be able to provide to members of this year’s graduating class.

Dunnick noted that NASF is nearing the conclusion of its 24th annual Alumni Fund Scholarship Drive. Those who would still like to contribute to this year’s fund drive may send their donation to NASF, C/O Niagara Public Schools, 700 Jefferson Avenue, Niagara, WI 54151. All donations are partially tax-deductible.

Since it was founded in 1993, NASF has awarded more than $117,000 in scholarships through funds it has raised primarily through its annual Alumni Fund Drive while it has also overseen the awarding of nearly an additional $500,000 through other scholarships they administer on behalf of the school district.

Since its inception, the NASF has led efforts that have resulted in the number of local scholarship dollars available to grow every year.

As a result of the efforts of the NASF and the support of alumni, teachers, former staff members, local businesses and civic organizations, the number of scholarships and funds has increased annually to the benefit of each graduating class and more new scholarships will be awarded this year for the first time.

The NASF is a tax-exempt community-based charitable organization whose purposes are to raise funds to annually provide scholarships to students and to promote the creation of additional scholarships for Niagara students.

In addition, NASF is creating an endowment fund that will continue to provide scholarships to future graduates of Niagara High School as they further their education at universities and technical colleges.

Current members of the organization include President Jim Dunnick, Vice President Kerry Grippen, Secretary Julie Butler, Treasurer Brenda Swanson, and trustees District Administrator Nathaniel Burklund, Chris Bougie, Darcy Brown, Julie Butler, Renae Colenso, John Fox, School Counselor Sherri Petschar, Kim Schuster, High School Principal Scott Trevillian, and Elizabeth Youren.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)