New IM school board member to be named

IRON MOUNTAIN — Four applicants are vying for a seat on the Iron Mountain Board of Education.

The applicants are Eli Ward, Dian Miller, Shari Piccuci-White, and Jeff Solka.

There will be a special meeting today at 5:30 p.m. to select the board member.

The term will be for two years until the April 2022 election. The person who wins election to the seat will serve the remaining four years.

The board conducted interviews with each candidate at Monday’s online meeting.

In other business, the board held its reorganizational meeting, re-electing Rob Langsford as president, Lisa Basanese as vice president, Lisa Carollo as secretary. Scott Celello was elected treasurer replacing Steve Brooks, who did not seek reelection.

The board accepted the resignations of junior varsity head football coach Ty Thomann and educational assistant Mindy Lewis.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today