Wisconsin has local elections today

Locally, a handful of municipal and school races are contested in today’s spring election in Wisconsin.

In the city of Niagara, four candidates are competing for three seats on the city council. They are challenger Lisa A. Mattia and incumbents Don Shampo, Michael Darne and Lynn Schabo Burke.

Joe Johnston, currently a Niagara alderman, is running unopposed for mayor. Incumbent Mayor George Bousley did not seek re-election.

In Florence County, four candidates, including two incumbents, are vying for three seats on the school board. The incumbents are Mike Theis and Ron Yadro. The challengers are LeAnn Ziolkowski and Amber Neuens.

Florence County voters are also being asked to approve a school referendum to exceed the revenue cap for four years, beginning with the 2021-22 school year.

Three incumbent town board chairs in Florence County will face opposition. In the town of Florence, incumbent Chairperson Tim Bomberg is challenged by Jim Gehlhoff.

In Fence, incumbent Fred Hedmark will go against Jim McLain Sr., while in Tipler, Fran Modschiedler is challenged by Kathleen Netzel. Also in Tipler, incumbent Robert Benter is challenged by Matt Ruf for a supervisor seat.

Northern Marinette County has several contested town board races. Joseph Stoll, an incumbent supervisor in Dunbar, is challenged by Bruce Radtke. In Pembine, three candidates will seek a pair of supervisor posts after the incumbents didn’t seek re-election. The candidates are Patrick Willis, Heather Willis and Anthony Erno.

In Beecher, incumbent chairman Robert Gehri is opposed by Cary L. (Clancy) Whiting.

Polls will close at 8 p.m. today.

There is no opposition on the ballot in these races:

— Niagara School Board: Karie A. Kehn and Julie Neuens for two seats.

— Beecher/Dunbar/Pembine School Board: Town of Beecher representative Vicki Fick and at-large member Tina Duenweg are unopposed

— Goodman/Armstrong Creek School Board: Deborah Thompson for one seat.

In Marinette county towns:

— Niagara: Mark DeClark, chairperson; Ronald Neuens and David Sanicki, supervisors; Dawn Johnson, clerk.

— Dunbar: Harry Sokel, chairman; David White, supervisor 2.

— Beecher: Daniel Groy and David Paulsen, supervisors; Cynthia Butterfield, clerk; Carolee Hirte, treasurer.

— Goodman: William Stankevich, chairman; Steve Gostisha and James LaChapell, supervisors; Sue Pratt, clerk; Cindy Nelson, treasurer.

— Pembine: Ross Bole, chairman.

In Florence County towns:

— Aurora: Tom Krans, chairperson; David E. Thom and Larry Schabel, supervisors; Stacy L. Hedmark, clerk; Tammy Dabb, treasurer.

— Commonwealth: Gary Steber, chairperson; Patrick Smith and James D’Agostino, supervisors; Dorothy Vayda, clerk; Deniell Bomberg, treasurer.

— Fence: Eduardo Huaracha and Theresa S. Woehler, supervisors; Pamela Batte, clerk; Jule Ann Thomas, treasurer.

— Fern: Fred Erwin, chairperson; Dwaine Drewa and Daymond Saak, supervisors; Patti DeClark, clerk; Carol Demko, treasurer.

— Florence: John Holbrook and Shane McLain, supervisors; Shelly VanPembrook, clerk-treasurer.

— Tipler: Roger Kelter, supervisor 2; Diana Hensley, clerk-treasurer.

— Homestead: Elinor Trosin, chairman; Kevin Olsen and Adam Anderson, supervisors; Linda McClain, clerk-treasurer.

— Long Lake: John Rodaer, chairman; Dale Ritchie and Jerry G. Nelson, supervisors; Amanda Mulvey, clerk; Sandra Hodgson, treasurer.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today