Markell, Clements win Fred Flink Best Ball at Oak Crest Golf Course

Jim Markell, left, and Mark Clements, right, won a fourth Fred Flink Best Ball golf title Sunday at Oak Crest Golf Course. Tournament namesake Fred Flink, center, presented the trophy. (Oak Crest Golf Club Photo)

NORWAY — Iron Mountain’s Jim Markell and Ishpeming’s Mark Clements outlasted two other teams in a playoff Sunday to win the Fred Flink Best Ball at Oak Crest Golf Course.

Playing the “Fred Flink” for a sixth time and winning a fourth championship, Markell-Clements shot a nine-under par 65 on Saturday and 66 on Sunday for 131. They tied Joe Pontbriand-Sam Fredrick (70-61) and Randy Ellis-Jon Ellis (63-68) after 36 holes.

Markell-Clements birdied the first playoff hole while the other teams had pars. Clements birdied three of the final four holes to help force the playoff.

Pontbriand-Fredrick registered a 61 over the final 18 on Sunday and wound up second. Ellis team took third after carding a 63 on Saturday.

Kevin Londo of Oak Crest reported that 84 teams and 168 golfers participated.

Here are the results:

Championship Flight

Mark Clements/Jim Markell, 131 (65-66); Joe Pontbriand/ Sam Fredrick, 131 (70-61); Jon Ellis/Randy Ellis 131 (63-68); Dale Ward Jr/Tony Ward, 133 (68-65); Rich Heesaker/Bill Lindmark, 134 (64-70); Alex Manier/Jake Zeugner, 134 (66-68); Dan Anderson/Darren Anderson, 136 (68-68); Paul Bujold/Scott Sanders, 136 (68-68); Tom LaVigne Eric Hiatt, 136 (68-69); Mike Calcaterra/Marc Mogan, 140 (69 71)

First Flight

Fred Flink/Ted Flink, 138 (72-66)

Second Flight

Dave Carpenter/Nick Dallapiazza, 145 (74-71)

Third Flight

Brandon Michaud/Cole Michaud, 148 (75-73); Gary Unrein/Joe Lemire, 148 (75-73)

Fourth Flight

Jon Greenleaf/Ton Curran, 149 (77-72)

Fifth Fight

Ray Brigman Dean Neveau, 159 (81-78)

Sixth Flight

Ron Calcaterra/Dale Ward Sr., 166 (83-83)