Tennis: Kingsford’s List named to All-UP First Team

ESCANABA — To the surprise of no one who has followed Upper Peninsula girls tennis this fall, Elysa Olivier of Marquette and Negaunee have earned major awards in voting by coaches.

Olivier finished the season unbeaten and won the UP Division 1 singles title at No. 1 to be named Player of the Year while Negaunee won the Division 1 team title and UP Team of the Year.

Olivier, Abby Nelson of Negaunee and the No. 1 Gladstone doubles team of Sydney Herioux-Taylor Trudeau received all-state honors.

That group also earned All-UP first-team honors and were joined by Stephanie List of Kingsford, Andie Balenger of Gladstone, Heather Bergstrom of Escanaba, Emma Anttila and Ely Wellner of Menominee and Maci Aho of Negaunee .

The D-1 All-UP doubles team also included Grace Lorenzoni-Mackenzie Schwamlien of Kingsford, Abby Knudsen-Jasmine Clark of Escanaba, Sydney Kivi-Ashlee Tripp of Marquette, Olivia Badker-Kendell Klatt of Menominee and Mykenna Kontio-Julia Johnson of Negaunee.

Singles players earning honorable mention are Jacey Moreau of Escanaba, Mollie Kilpela of Marquette, Jenna Nolde of Menominee and Jillian Skewis of Negaunee.

Gaining doubles HM are Annie McCole-Teagan Petschar of Kingsford, Lexi Taavola-Shelby Yesney of Negaunee and Kennedy Tate-Carly Sandstrom of Marquette.