UP Hall of Fame tickets on sale

ESCANABA – Tickets are available for the 48th annual Upper Peninsula Sports Hall of Fame induction banquet.

The banquet is May 11 at Island Resort and Casino in Harris, 15 miles west of Escanaba on U.S. 2-41.

Tickets are $30 per person and must be purchased by April 29. They are available through Cathy Shamion (885-5739) in Wakefield and Ontonagon, Dennis Grall (789-9005) in Escanaba, Dave Lahtinen (786-8561) in Escanaba, Mike Caruso (774-1918) in Iron Mountain, Suzanne Sanregret (281-1206) in Hancock, Don Gustafson (298-0174) in St. Ignace, Dan Hinch (265-9891) in Iron River and DeeJay Paquette (202-0725) in Munising.

The banquet begins at 6 p.m. (EDT) in the room behind the casino proper. Also recognized will be four UP high school students who will receive college scholarships from the UP Sports Hall of Fame.

The 2019 induction class includes Jerry Bugni of L’Anse, the late Marmaduke Christie of Escanaba, Fran DesArmo of Munising, Dave Duncan of Cedarville, Jeff Finger of Houghton, Chris Hofer of Kingsford, former North Dickinson and Indiana University cager Todd Lindeman of North Dickinson, the late Joe Linder of Hancock, the late Fred Lonsdorf of Houghton and the late Bob Olson of Houghton.

Nomination deadline is June 1 each year, and once a person is nominated the file remains active until they are selected. It can be updated at any time.

New nominations, or updated information on previous nominees, should be submitted by June 1 to UPSSA executive secretary Dennis Grall in Escanaba, at 2115 24th Ave. S., 49829. Nominations submitted via email will not be accepted.

There are currently 326 nominations on file. Each year, seven inductees come from the post-1970 division and three from the pre-1970 division.