Miners, WIC’s Ross rule Kingsford Invite

Boys Tennis

Burt Angeli/The Daily News Photos West Iron County No. 1 singles Holden Ross posted an unbeaten record Saturday in the Kingsford Invite.

KINGSFORD — Negaunee dominated the Kingsford Invitational boys tennis tournament Saturday.

The Miners captured all but first flight singles where West Iron County sophomore Holden Ross went undefeated.

“Negaunee’s strength and depth showed through,” said Kingsford Coach Sarah Massie. “Number one singles was a competitive flight. I was happy to see Brett (Hicks) take home a medal.”

Hicks’ lone loss came to Ross.

Negaunee claimed the other singles titles with Will Luke, Peyton Anderson and Jordan Mason. The Miners swept doubles with Jakson Sager-Drew Lindberg, Jake Larson-Ander Sorenson, Nathan Brundage-Preston Toutant and Tom Kinjorski-Erik Salminen.

Kingsford No. 1 doubles Tyler Beauchamp-Reece Fortner was runner-up, losing only to Negaunee.

Five-team tournament was played under a round robin format, with each match consisting of two short sets starting at 2-2 and no third-set tiebreakers. Team points were based on total number of sets won.

“The weather finally worked in our favor with a beautiful day for some tennis,” Massie noted.


Standings — Negaunee 59, West Iron County 40, Kingsford 29, Escanaba 28, Menominee 3


No. 1 — 1. Holden Ross, WIC, 8-0; 2. Brett Hicks, K, 6-2; 3. Christer Carne, E, and Chas Kumpula, N, 3-5; Tyler Kuester, M, 0-8

No. 2 — 1. Will Luke, N, 8-0; 2. Mitch Ballinger, WIC, 5-3

No. 3 — 1. Peyton Anderson, N, 8-0; 2. Alex Wickstrom, WIC, 6-2

No. 4. — 1. Jordan Mason, N, 8-0; 2. Shaun Beauchamp, E, 6-2


No. 1. Jakson Sager-Drew Lindberg, N, 8-0; 2. Tyler Beauchamp-Reece Fortner, K, 6-2; 3. Caden Pellizzer-Andy Fredrickson; 4. Steve Polaski-Cade Fernstrum, M, 2-6; 5. Travis Burch-Garrett LaMarch, E, 0-8

No. 2 — 1. Jake Larson-Ander Sorenson, N, 8-0; 2. Nolan Anderson-Lucas Isaacson, WIC, 5-3

No. 3 — 1. Nathan Brundage-Preston Toutant, N, 8-0; 2. Drew Hebert-Logan Horton, WIC, 6-2

No. 4 — 1. Tom Kinjorski-Erik Salminen, N, 8-0; 2. Garrett Johnson-Isaac Maki, E, 5-3


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)