Softball: Knights’ VanHolla shares MVP award


NORWAY — Norway’s Ada VanHolla and Bark River-Harris’s Eden Oswald shared player of the year honors in the Skyline Central Conference,

VanHolla hit .451 for the season after a .507 batting mark in May. She had three home runs, 40 RBI and 35 runs.

Oswald, a starting pitcher for the Broncos, led the team to a conference and district title. She also committed to Bay College.

Three other Broncos were selected for the All-Conference team, including Cierra Ouradnik, Bonnie Cortinas and Tatiana LaFave. They helped lead BR-H to a conference title, finishing ahead of Norway in second, Munising third, Superior Central fourth and Stephenson fifth.

Superior Central selections include Madisyn Tyner, Betty Jo Swajanen Jr. and Jada Johnson.

Rounding out the team are Lily Thoune and Autumn Rasner of Stephenson, Allie Sheski and Mariah Gyselinck of Norway, and Kiira Paulson, Maddee Johns and Megan Matson of Munising.

Three Flivvers

named All-GNC

ESCANABA — After dominating seasons on the softball diamond, Escanaba and Gladstone were heavily rewarded at the Great Northern Conference’s all-conference meeting.

Six Eskymos and six Braves were selected to the team headlined by Esky ace pitcher Gabi Salo.

Gladstone’s Andie Balenger and Kingsford’s Maggie Strehlow were selected at the other two pitcher spots.

Other Esky selections include Dakota Cloutier (catcher), Nicole Kamin (infield), Maddy Block (infield), Lexi Chaillier (outfield) and Jalin Olson (outfield).

Gladstone’s other recipients include Taylor Trudeau (catcher), Sydney Herioux (infield), Morgan Letteriello (infield), Jenna Tardiff (outfield) and Maddie Ahlgren (outfield).

Kingsford’s other selections include infielders Emily Curtis and Tori Kowalkowski.

Marquette’s Alexis Trombley was selected on the infield, while Menominee’s Ashly Powell was selected in the outfield.

Honorable mentions include Gladstone’s Taelor Zeise (infield) and Natalie Hansen (catcher), and Esky’s Carsyn Segorski (infield).

Gary Salo was named coach of the year after leading Esky to a conference title and a 26-3 regular season record. Esky’s only conference loss came at Gladstone May 14. The Braves finished the season 30-6 and second in the GNC.

Kingsford’s Cory Rice and Gladstone’s Scott Herioux were named Volunteer Coaches of the Year.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)