Johnson, Wonders named first team all-state

Iron Mountain senior Marcus Johnson drives through the lane versus Hancock in February.

IRON MOUNTAIN– Iron Mountain senior Marcus Johnson and junior teammate Foster Wonders both accomplished another repeat in recognition of their in-season play. The duo was named to the Michigan Associated Press all-state first team, as announced Tuesday evening.

For Johnson, this was the third season in a row for him to be selected to the AP all-state first team, a rarity for a U.P. player. The last U.P. player to be named AP all-state for three consecutive seasons, was North Central standout and current Western Michigan University player Jason Whitens in 2015-2017.

In Johnson’s four years as a starter for the Mountaineers, the team went 91-8, winning five combined conference championships (Mid Peninsula and West PAC), three district championships, two regional championships and a Division 3 runner-up finish in 2019.

For the season, Johnson scored 493 points, averaging 22.4 points per game. Additionally he averaged 4.1 rebounds per game, 4.5 assists, 3.1 steals and shot nearly 87% from the free throw line.

Johnson finished his Mountaineer career with four school records: points (2,076), assists (461), 3-pointers (285) and free throw percentage (81.19%).

Iron Mountain junior Foster Wonders shoots against Gwinn in a game in January. (Ron Deuter/Daily News photos)

Wonders’ selection to the first team is his second in a row, having been named last season as a sophomore. The junior forward finished the season with 27.4 points per game, scoring 603 points. He averaged 7.8 rebounds per game, along with two steals and 2.4 assists.

In the 68 varsity games Wonders has played for the Mountaineers, they are 64-4 and he has scored 1,618 points.

Negaunee senior guard Jason Waterman is the only other U.P. player on this season’s AP Division 3 all-state team, receiving honorable mention.

Joining Johnson and Wonders on the first team are: Jalen Terry, Flint Beecher, Sr.; Reece Hazelton, Maple City Glen Lake, Sr.; Jeffrey Carrier, Mason County Central, Sr.; Sam Vasiu, Grand Rapids NorthPointe Christian, Sr.; Joey Liedel, Erie Mason, Sr.; JaVaughn Hannah, Mt. Clemens, So.; William Dunn, Quincy, Sr. and Ty Horky, Manchester, Sr.

Terry was named Division 3 Player of the Year for a second straight year. Terry was runner-up in the AP Mr. Basketball voting to Carlos “Scooby” Johnson of Benton Harbor.

Courtney Kemp of Ravenna was selected as Coach of the Year in Division 3.

Daily News staff and the Associated Press contributed to this story


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today