Racing season to begin Friday at Norway track

(ARCA Midwest Tour Photo) Escanaba's Jamie Iverson (97) maneuvers the inside of turns one and two at the Norway Speedway in a ARCA Midwest Tour race. Iverson won the prestigious Stateline Challenge a record five times.

NORWAY TOWNSHIP — The 2020 season for the Dickinson County Racing Association will start with the club’s biggest race of the year.

The 37th Annual Norway Speedway Stateline Challenge, presented by Aurora Liquors and Island Resort and Casino, takes place Friday night at the Dickinson County Fairgrounds

The club will have an abbreviated 10-race schedule this year, due to the coronavirus wiping out the scheduled races in late May and all of June. Friday night’s race is named after track legend, the late Kent Pearson, who won the event in 1982 and 1983.

Other former winners of the prestigious race include former NASCAR driver Dick Trickle, who won the inaugural Stateline Challenge in 1981, with his second win coming in 1988.

Also, 2003 NASCAR Winston Cup Champion Matt Kenseth won the 1993 event, which was combined with the ARTGO series race at the Speedway that summer. Current NASCAR Gander Truck Series driver Johnny Sauter won the 2018 Stateline race.

Former race winners entered into this year’s field are two-time winner Dalton Zehr of Madison, Wis., who will drive for Gene Coleman of Menominee. Zehr took the checkered flag in the event in 2015 and 2017.

Kris Kelly of Vulcan, the 2016 winner, is also expected to compete Friday night. He and his father, Mike, who won in 1984, became the first father and son duo to take home the checkered flag in the biggest event of the summer at Norway Speedway.

Dillon Kralovetz of Bonduel, Wis. who won in 2013, and Mike Reichenberger of Appleton, Wis., the 2007 Stateline champion, are also entered in the 2020 field.

Five-time race winner Jamie Iverson of Escanaba has handed the reins of the No. 97 car to his son, Robbie Iverson, who is also on the entry list for Friday night.

There will be a limited number of tickets sold at the gate — 100 of the 500 allowable — due to Michigan’s COVID-19 regulations. There are 400 pre-sale tickets available on the DCRA website at norwayspeedway.com. Anyone with questions or concerns, contact DCRA President John Ostermann at 906-361-0597.

Pits open at 3 p.m. Friday. Practice begins at 4, and the grandstands open at 5 p.m. Qualifying will take place at 5:30 p.m., with racing to start at 7 p.m.

Norway Speedway Stateline Challenge Winners

2019 – Travis Sauter Prairie Du Sac, Wis.

2018- Johnny Sauter, Necedah, Wis.

2017- Dalton Zehr, Menominee

2016- Kris Kelly, Norway

2015- Dalton Zehr, Menominee

2014- (Tundra Race)

2013- Dillon Kralovetz, Bonduel, Wis.

2012- Jamie Iverson, Escanaba

2011- Jamie Iverson, Escanaba

2010- No Race

2009- No Race

2008- No Race

2007- Mike Reichenberger, Appleton, Wis.

2006- Jamie Iverson, Escanaba

2005- Jamie Iverson, Escanaba

2004- Jamie Iverson, Escanaba

2003- Terry Baldry, Omro, Wis.

2002- Dale Peterson, Escanaba

2001- Mark Schroeder, Green Bay, Wis.

2000- Wayne Breitenfeldt, Wausau, Wis.

1999- Mark Schroeder, Green Bay, Wis.

1998- Dale Peterson, Bark River

1997- Terry Baldry, Omro, Wis.

1996- Kevin Cywinski, Mosinee, Wis.

1995- Kevin Cywinski, Mosinee, Wis.

1994- Kevin Cywinski, Mosinee, Wis.

1993- Matt Kenseth, Cambridge, Wis.

1992- Bob Menor, Wausaukee, Wis.

1991- Bob Menor, Wausaukee, Wis.

1990- Terry Baldry, Omro, Wis.

1989- Allen Check, Stevens Point, Wis.

1988- Dick Trickle, Wisconsin Rapids, Wis.

1987- Scott Hansen, Green Bay, Wis.

1986- Scott Hansen, Green Bay, Wis.

1985- Mike Mattson, Marquette

1984- Mike Kelly, Norway

1983- Kent Pearson, Kingsford

1982- Kent Pearson, Kingsford

1981- Dick Trickle, Wisconsin Rapids, Wis.


Car No. Driver Hometown

01 Bryan Monday Appleton, Wis.

07 Alex Seidel Appleton, Wis.

2 Dillion Kralovetz Bonduel, Wis.

3 Dean Varda Vulcan

5 Mike Reichenberger Appleton, Wis.

6 Mike Lantange Vulcan

7 Mark Schroeder Green Bay, Wis.

7 Joey Pontbriand Norway

8 Chad Butz Green Bay, Wis.

10 Andy Monday Appleton, Wis.

11 Tim Howen Niagara, Wis.

12 Mark Mackesy Wausau,Wis.

14 Tyler Wusterbarth Oconto, Wis.

17 Robert Younger De Pere, Wis.

18 Charlie Bell Skandia

23 Bruce White Kingsford

25 Matt Charlebois Wallace

27 Travis Rodewald Manitowoc, Wis.

31 Jason Wells Kingsford

33 Mike D’Angelo Jr. Gwinn

36 Lou Goss Green Bay, Wis.

41 Scott Stanchina Kingsford

44 Justin Mondeik Gleason, Wis.

45 Scott Bolster Marquette

47 Eugene Gregorich Jr. Amherst, Wis.

77 Kris Kelly Vulcan

77k Tanner Kelly Caledonia, Wis.

79 Dan Lindsley Vulcan

97 Robby Iverson Escanaba

119 Dalton Zehr Madison, Wis.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today