Iron Mountain players selected to Division 8 all-region team


IRON MOUNTAIN– Four Iron Mountain football players were recently selected to the Division 8 All Region No. 1 team by the Michigan High School Football Coaches Association.

Selected were Bryce Pietrantonio (athlete), Dante Basanese (defensive back), Caleb Burklund (defensive line) and Caleb Evosevich-Hynes (specialist).

On Oct. 26, all four players received additional accolades. They were all-conference selections in the Copper Division of the Western Peninsula Athletic Conference — Pietrantonio at inside linebacker and tight end; Basanese at defensive back; Burklund at defensive line and fullback; and Evosevich-Hynes at running back and outside linebacker.

Pietrantonio was named co-lineman of the year, while Evosevich-Hynes was named co-offensive player of the year.

The Upper Peninsula Sportswriters and Sportscasters awards and selections will be announced in mid-December.


The Mountaineers are scheduled to face Johannesburg-Lewiston in a Division 8 Regional final at Mountaineer Stadium once high school sports competition is allowed to resume.

MHSAA competition and practice is currently on hold due to the coronavirus pandemic.




Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today