Green Bay’s Butz doubles up on Norway features

NORWAY — Green Bay, Wis., racer Chad Butz sped to a pair of late model feature wins at Norway Speedway.

Meanwhile, Anthony Schiefelbein of Pembine, Wis., fought off late race pressure from point leader Joey Pontbriand to capture Friday’s super stock feature. With the win Schiefelbein snapped Pontbriand’s streak of three feature wins in a row.

In the first late model main, Butz passed Scott Stanchina for the lead on lap 11 and never relinquished the top spot.

In the second late model feature Kaukauna, Wis., driver Will Timmers made contact with Robby Iverson of Hyde at the drop of the green. Timmers’ car flew into the outside retaining wall.

Timmers was shook up and the wreck sidelined him for the contest. Butz wasted little time getting to the front and cruised to victory.

The super stock main was marred by several wrecks — one of which sent Pontbriand flying off the paved third-mile and onto the fairgrounds horse track. The Norway driver drove his machine into the pits and rejoined the contest.

With his battered machine, Pontbriand remained competitive and despite pitting a second time was able to thread his way through the field in the caution-plagued event. Pontbriand pressured Schiefelbein in the waning laps but the Pembine driver was up for the challenge and scored the win.

Hermansville’s Dean Bellmore dodged a late race surge from Faithorn’s Trevor Cronick to emerge triumphant in the four-banger feature. In stock car action Gary Thom of Aurora, Wis., returned to the class he competed in a season ago to capture the feature win.

Friday night, Sayklly’s Candles presents the popular Hall of Fame-Roy Allard Memorial night. A fireworks display will take place at the conclusion of racing, and all veterans will be admitted free of charge.

The Class of 2021 for the Norway Speedway Hall fo Fame includes long-time track announcer and U.P. radio voice John Koehler, former racers Fred Gignac and Pat Temple, longtime wrecker volunteer and Dickinson County Racing Association board member Brian Swanson and former racer and current NASCAR Cup crew chief Greg Ives.

Racing gets underway at 7 p.m. Check norwayspeedway.com and the club’s page on Facebook for further information or email ostermannjohn@hotmail.com.

BINK’S COCA COLA SUPER LATE MODEL FEATURE No. 1 – Chad Butz, Green Bay, Wis; Gregg Haese, Manitowoc, Wis; Scott Stanchina, Kingsford; Jason Wells, Kingsford; Bruce White, Kingsford; Cory Cootware, Iron Mountain; Will Timmers, Kaukauna, Wis; Wyatt Spade, Norway; Robby Iverson, Hyde; Ryan Hood, Vulcan; Tom Lindquist, Bark River (DNS); Scott Bolster, Marquette (DNS)

FEATURE No. 2 – Butz; Stanchina; Wells; Haese; White; Cootware; Spade; Hood; Iverson; Timmers; Lindquist (DNS), Bolster (DNS)

FAST TIME – Butz 14.044

AUTO VALUE SUPER STOCK FEATURE – Anthony Schiefelbein, Pembine, Wis.; Joey Pontbriand, Norway; Ryan Wender, Upper Pine Creek; Tim Schultz Jr., Vulcan; Adam Faull, Vulcan; Bob Schiefelbein, Pembine, Wis.; Kelly LaCount, Athelstane, Wis.; Jordan Massicotte, Kingsford; Tony Wender, Kingsford; Destiny Bullard, Marquette; Andy Gerwig, Norway; Matt Charlebois, Wallace.

HEAT – Tony Wender; Bob Schiefelbein

DASH – Faull

FAST TIME – Pontbriand, 15.882

141 AUTO SALES STOCK CAR FEATURE – Gary Thom, Aurora, Wis.; Nick Kroehler, Appleton, Wis; Todd Schmidt, Spread Eagle, Wis; Travis Hulsizer, Menominee; Bobby Lewis, Bark River.

HEATS 1) Thom; Lewis

2) Paul Bourgeois, Iron Mountain; Trevor Pankratz, Little Suamico, Wis.

FAST TIME – Kroehler, 18.312

MC SIGNS & GRAPHICS 4 BANGER FEATURE – Dean Bellmore, Hermansville; Trevor Cronick, Faithorn; Cory Grondine, Hermansville; Mike Loberger, Marinette, Wis.; Elliot Reid, Faithorn; Alex Bellmore, Faithorn.

HEATS 1) Alex Bellmore; Cassandra Freeman, Niagara, Wis.

2) Cronick; Dean Bellmore

FAST TIME – Dean Bellmore 18.460

Spectator Eliminator – Gerald Dugree Jr, Norway


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today