Nelson all-state honorable mention

LANSING – West Iron County senior center Emily Nelson was named honorable mention on the Associated Press Division 3 all-state team, it was announced Tuesday evening.

Nelson averaged 13.2 points, 12 rebounds and 2.5 blocks per game during the 2019-20 season. Nelson was a 2019 all-U.P. first team choice and she is committed to play at Michigan Tech.

Pewamo-Westphalia’s Hannah Spitzley was a repeat winner for Player of the Year.

The Western Michigan-bound Spitzley has been a key component in a record run of success for P-W.

Spitzley was part of a state runner-up team as a freshman, a state semifinal team as a sophomore and the Pirates’ first-ever state championship as a junior.

Spitzley, who averaged 14.4 points, 5.4 rebounds, 3.3 steals, 2.2 assists and shot 58% from the field, had the top-ranked Pirates in position to make another deep run before the MHSAA state tournament was suspended.

Spitzley is a career 1,000-point scorer, a defensive standout and did many other things to help P-W to a 98-7 record the last four years.

Spitzley was joined on the Division 3 All-State squad by Kent City’s Kenzie Bowers, Oscoda’s Lauren Langley, Flint Hamady’s Xeryia Tartt and Aryana Naylor, Ypsilanti Arbor Prep’s Mya Petticord, Byron’s Sarah Marvin, Schoolcraft’s Gabi Saxman, Springport’s Alana Nelson, Maple City Glen Lake’s Grace Bradford, Lake City’s Rylie Bisballe and P-W’s Ellie Droste.

Byron’s Theresa Marvin was voted Coach of the Year in Division 3.

Westwood senior Tessa Leece made the second team. Ishpeming’s Madelyn Koski was the only other U.P. player to make the all-state list, selected as an honorable mention.

(Brian Calloway of the Lansing State Journal contributed to this report.)


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)