Iron Mountain honors its top senior athletes

Johnson and McCormick earn Izzo-Mariucci

(Theresa Proudfit/Daily News Photo) Iron Mountain's Macy McCormick returns a volley in a Sept. 19, 2019 meet versus Westwood. McCormick was selected a Girls Tennis MVP, as well as the Pat Izzo Award and the Izzo-Mariucci Scholarship.

IRON MOUNTAIN — The Iron Mountain High School Athletic Department had its 2019-2020 Athletic Awards and senior recognition in a virtual program on May 22.

First-year Athletic Director Donny Bianco had a message for all Mountaineer athletes and graduating seniors. The message wished the seniors luck in their futures, while expressing appreciation to all athletes in all sports.

For Iron Mountain team MVPs, the selection is always a senior, while all seniors in each sport are recognized.

The Pat Izzo Award is an award for a male and female multi-sport athlete. The individual selected shall display: positive character, desire, leadership, sportsmanship and school spirt. The male recipient was Giovanni Basanese, and the female winner was Macy McCormick.

The Tom Izzo-Steve Mariucci Scholarship was established during the 1999-2000 school year. The funding comes from a trust established by the two Mountaineer alums, for the purpose of providing a yearly scholarship to a graduating senior (preferably one male and one female) of Iron Mountain High School.

(Theresa Proudfit/Daily News Photo) Iron Mountain's Marcus Johnson (14) dribbles up the court in a game versus Houghton in late February. Johnson was named Boys Basketball and Football MVP, and was the male selection for the Izzo-Mariucci Scholarship.

During his or her school career, the student must have demonstrated the qualities of good sportsmanship, high moral character, participated in high school sports, maintained high academic standards, and have a sincere desire to continue his/her education and athletic career at an accredited four-year college or university.

Marcus Johnson was the male recipient, while Macy McCormick was the female honoree.

Johnson has committed to play basketball at Ripon College in Ripon, Wis, while McCormick has committed to play tennis at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire.


2019-20 team MVPs


Outstanding Lineman, Giovanni Colavecchi

Outstanding Back and Overall MVP, Marcus Johnson

Tennis, Macy McCormick


Anna Rittenhouse

Boys Basketball

Marcus Johnson

Girls Basketball

Reagan Lundholm

Competitive Cheer

Courtney Partello


Brent Aman

Boys Bowling

Zach Spera

Girls Bowling

Tamara Jaeger


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today