Iron County approves 911 millage

CRYSTAL FALLS — Iron County voters easily approved a new property tax levy Tuesday to support the county’s central 911 dispatch service.

Preliminary county-wide results showed 1,868 yes votes to 864 no votes.

The levy of 1 mill, or $1 per $1,000 of taxable value, raises an estimated $537,272 when first levied this year. The proposed levy is four years, through 2023.

In conjunction the new millage, a current telephone surcharge of $2.70 per device will be eliminated, according to Iron County Central Dispatch.

In other Iron County results:

— The only contested race for county office on Tuesday’s ballot was for an Iron County Road Commission seat. Incumbent Ernest J. Schmidt prevailed over Ray Margoni in the Democratic primary, 709 to 634.

— In Bates Township, three Republicans were on the ballot for two trustee seats. Incumbent Michael J. Franzene gathered the most votes, 137, followed by Jane Adams, 98, and Mark F. Gasperini, 89.

— There were three GOP candidates for two trustee seats in Iron River Township. Mike Sheehy, an incumbent who received 148 votes, and Douglas Bruster, 106, were the winners, followed by Mary Froblom, 90 votes.

— In Mastodon Township’s Republican primary, Jan Lemke, the incumbent clerk, turned back a challenge from Jim Erickson, 88 to 58.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today