Bender earns third straight Crystal Falls golf championship

IAN BENDER HAS won his third straight men’s golf championship at Crystal View Golf Course in Crystal Falls.

CRYSTAL FALLS –Not since 2007 has a player won three consecutive Crystal Falls men’s golf championships.

Ian Bender recently became the latest to do so by winning in 2018, 2019, and now 2020. Bender led the way from start to finish scoring 73-75-39 to finish comfortably ahead of his competitors. The last to win three championships in a row was Michael Peters in 2005, 2006 and 2007.

The aforementioned Michael Peters, Jim Emmers, Todd Bociek, and Bryan LaChapelle Sr. were in hot pursuit but got no closer in the end than five strokes.

Bender won with his driving length, combined with his soft putting touch on the challenging Crystal View Golf Course with slick undulating greens.

Other than Bender and Peters, since 1952, only Richard (Dick) Mettlach Sr. has won three consecutive championships. Mettlach won seven in a row from 1968 through 1974 and also won three in a row from 1990 through 1992. Since 1952 he has won 21 championships.

There have been many multiple winners however. The list of winners, since 1952, and the number of wins are as follows:

— Richard Mettlach, Sr.: 21

— Robert Nylund: 7

— Norbert Dishaw: 7

— Michael Peters: 6

— Ken Stockero, Jr.: 5

— Bryan LaChapelle, Jr.: 4

— Vernon Harrington: 3

— Richard Mettlach, Jr.: 3

— Ian Bender: 3

— Michael Dacheff: 2

— Albert Sartori: 2

— Mark Morkin: 2

— Bernard Sacheck: 1

— Walter Johnson: 1

— Arthur Saviluoto: 1

— Dale Peters: 1


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today