Mondeik captures the Late Model feature race

(Amanda Schiefelbein photo) No. 74 Pembine, Wis., driver Anthony Schiefelbein captured the Super Stock heat and feature Friday night at Norway Speedway. From left are Ryan Aguilar, Marissa Maenpaa, Jon Maenpaa, Anthony Schiefelbein, Robert Schiefelbein, Cameron Schiefelbein, Cynthia Schiefelbein, Colton Schiefelbein and Ashley Schiefelbein.

NORWAY TOWNSHIP — Gleason, Wis., driver Justin Mondeik — one of the Midwest’s busiest short track racers — made a profitable return to Norway Speedway Friday night.

Mondeik, who a few weeks earlier fought off Dalton Zehr to a thrilling Stateline Challenge win here, grabbed the lead on lap three and never looked back, capturing the 35-lap late model feature.

Mondeik started the contest third and motored past early race leader Dean Varda to grab the lead on the third circuit. Mondeik kept the top spot through a few caution periods throughout the contest.

Vulcan’s Dan Lindsley, who started 11th, marched through the field, methodically picking off a car every few laps. Lindsley stormed into the second spot on a lap 15 restart but was unable to close the gap as Mondeik captured his second Norway feature flag in as many appearances in the season in 2020.

Lindsley hung on for second place money followed by Ryan Hood in third. Mike D’Angelo Jr. and veteran Bruce White placed fourth and fifth, respectively.

In the super stocks they broke out the broom for Pembine, Wis., driver Anthony Schiefelbein. Schiefelbein fought off a fast moving Kevin Peterson in the waning laps to capture the feature. Schiefelbein had won his heat earlier in the night as well.

Peterson hung on to take second at the pay window, followed by Ryan Wender, Tim Schultz and Adam Faull.

No time trials were held as the heat, dash and feature races were lined up by a weekly point average.

Friday night will be the annual induction of racers into the Norway Speedway Hall of Fame. The 2020 class of inductees includes former racers Jamie Iverson of Escanaba, Mike Gardner of Gladstone, Mark Miller of Kingsford, Don Benoit of Escanaba, former track official Roger Deau and longtime DCRA employee Joyce Hansen.

As an added attraction the vintage modifieds will be on hand for an exhibition race. Racing gets underway at 7 p.m.

Check norwayspeedway.com and the Norway Speedway page on Facebook for further information or email ostermannjohn@hotmail.com.


BINK’S COCA COLA SUPER LATE MODEL FEATURE – Justin Mondeik, Gleason, Wis.; Dan Lindsley, Vulcan; Ryan Hood, Niagara, Wis; Mike D’Angelo Jr, Marquette; Bruce White, Kingsford; Cory Cootware, Iron Mountain; Scott Stanchina, Kingsford; Jason Wells, Kingsford; Mike Lantange, Vulcan; Robby Iverson, Escanaba; Tim Howen, Niagara, Wis.; Joey Pontbriand, Norway; Dean Varda, Vulcan; Robert Younger, De Pere, Wis.

DASH – Lindsley

HEAT – Mondeik; Varda

AUTO VALUE SUPER STOCK FEATURE – Anthony Schiefelbein, Pembine, Wis.; Kevin Peterson, Marinette, Wis.; Ryan Wender, Upper Pine Creek; Tim Schultz Jr., Vulcan; Adam Faull, Vulcan; Kelly LaCount, Athelstane, Wis.; Destiny Bullard, Marquette; Bob Schiefelbein, Pembine, Wis.; Jordan Massicotte, Kingsford; Devon Wilcox, Florence, Wis.; Steve Wilcox, Florence, Wis.; Andy Gerwig, Norway.

HEAT – Schiefelbein; Bullard

DASH – Peterson

141 AUTO SALES STOCK FEATURE – Gary Thom, Aurora, Wis.; B.J. Schoneck, Marion, Wis.; Pete Fraser, Iron Mountain; Preston Weddle, Crivitz, Wis.; Todd Schmidt, Spread Eagle, Wis.

HEAT – Trevor Pankratz, Little Suamico, Wis.

MC SIGNS & GRAPHICS 4 BANGER FEATURE Elliot Reid, Faithorn; Mike Loberger, Marinette, Wis.; Jake Dulford, Vulcan; Dean Bellmore, Hermansville; Cory Grondine, Hermansville

HEATS 1) Isaiah Lawrence, Spruce, Wis.; Courtney Anderson, Menominee

2) Zach Gazda, Vulcan; Dulford

Spectator Eliminators – David Loomis, Norway


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today